lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 5.0 05/93] perf data: Dont store auxtrace index for directory data file
On Thu, Apr 18, 2019 at 10:28:47PM +0300, Thomas Backlund wrote:
>Den 18-04-2019 kl. 20:56, skrev Greg Kroah-Hartman:
>>[ Upstream commit cd3dd8dd8ff62374d90cb3f2e54b8c94106c7810 ]
>>
>>We can't store the auxtrace index when we store into multiple files,
>>because we keep only offset for it, not the file.
>>
>>The auxtrace data will be processed correctly in the 'pipe' mode.
>>
>>Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
>>Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
>>Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
>>Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
>>Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
>>Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
>>Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
>>Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
>>Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190308134745.5057-3-jolsa@kernel.org
>>Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
>>Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
>>---
>> tools/perf/builtin-record.c | 2 +-
>> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>>
>>diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
>>index 882285fb9f64..3fd154f1701b 100644
>>--- a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
>>+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
>>@@ -386,7 +386,7 @@ static int record__process_auxtrace(struct perf_tool *tool,
>> size_t padding;
>> u8 pad[8] = {0};
>>- if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data)) {
>>+ if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data) && !perf_data__is_dir(data)) {
>> off_t file_offset;
>> int fd = perf_data__fd(data);
>> int err;
>>
>
>
>This breaks the build with:
>
>builtin-record.c: In function 'record__process_auxtrace':
>builtin-record.c:389:36: warning: implicit declaration of function
>'perf_data__is_dir'; did you mean 'perf_data__is_pipe'?
>[-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
> if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data) && !perf_data__is_dir(data)) {
> ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
>
>Looks like it depends atleast on:
>
>commit ec65def1045e4c7817b7f741a86dadae82877a93
>Author: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
>Date: Fri Mar 8 14:47:35 2019 +0100
>
> perf data: Support having perf.data stored as a directory
>
>
>Maybe better to drop it.

I've dropped it, thanks!

--
Thanks,
Sasha

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-19 20:35    [W:0.124 / U:2.076 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site