lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 5.0 05/93] perf data: Dont store auxtrace index for directory data file
On Thu, Apr 18, 2019 at 07:56:43PM +0200, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> [ Upstream commit cd3dd8dd8ff62374d90cb3f2e54b8c94106c7810 ]
>
> We can't store the auxtrace index when we store into multiple files,
> because we keep only offset for it, not the file.
>
> The auxtrace data will be processed correctly in the 'pipe' mode.
>
> Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190308134745.5057-3-jolsa@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
> ---
> tools/perf/builtin-record.c | 2 +-
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
> index 882285fb9f64..3fd154f1701b 100644
> --- a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
> +++ b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
> @@ -386,7 +386,7 @@ static int record__process_auxtrace(struct perf_tool *tool,
> size_t padding;
> u8 pad[8] = {0};
>
> - if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data)) {
> + if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data) && !perf_data__is_dir(data)) {

This causes the following build error on 5.0:

builtin-top.c: In function ‘__cmd_top’:
builtin-top.c:1241:3: error: label ‘out_delete’ used but not defined
goto out_delete;
^~~~
builtin-record.c: In function ‘record__process_auxtrace’:
builtin-record.c:389:36: error: implicit declaration of function ‘perf_data__is_dir’; did you mean ‘perf_data__is_pipe’? [-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]
if (!perf_data__is_pipe(data) && !perf_data__is_dir(data)) {
^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
perf_data__is_pipe
builtin-record.c:389:36: error: nested extern declaration of ‘perf_data__is_dir’ [-Werror=nested-externs]

Dropping the patch solves this error, though there is a second perf
related build error in this RC caused by 2c0bd03b5d20 ("perf top: Delete
the evlist before perf_session, fixing heap-use-after-free issue").


> off_t file_offset;
> int fd = perf_data__fd(data);
> int err;
> --
> 2.19.1
>
>
>

--
Linaro - Kernel Validation

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-18 21:30    [W:0.442 / U:3.312 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site