lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/speculation] s390/speculation: Support 'mitigations=' cmdline option
Commit-ID:  0336e04a6520bdaefdb0769d2a70084fa52e81ed
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/0336e04a6520bdaefdb0769d2a70084fa52e81ed
Author: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Fri, 12 Apr 2019 15:39:31 -0500
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Wed, 17 Apr 2019 21:37:29 +0200

s390/speculation: Support 'mitigations=' cmdline option

Configure s390 runtime CPU speculation bug mitigations in accordance
with the 'mitigations=' cmdline option. This affects Spectre v1 and
Spectre v2.

The default behavior is unchanged.

Signed-off-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Tested-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> (on x86)
Reviewed-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@canonical.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/e4a161805458a5ec88812aac0307ae3908a030fc.1555085500.git.jpoimboe@redhat.com

---
Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt | 5 +++--
arch/s390/kernel/nospec-branch.c | 3 ++-
2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
index ac7150a25a7a..1ae93872b79f 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
@@ -2514,7 +2514,7 @@
http://repo.or.cz/w/linux-2.6/mini2440.git

mitigations=
- [X86,PPC] Control optional mitigations for CPU
+ [X86,PPC,S390] Control optional mitigations for CPU
vulnerabilities. This is a set of curated,
arch-independent options, each of which is an
aggregation of existing arch-specific options.
@@ -2525,7 +2525,8 @@
expose users to several CPU vulnerabilities.
Equivalent to: nopti [X86,PPC]
nospectre_v1 [PPC]
- nospectre_v2 [X86,PPC]
+ nobp=0 [S390]
+ nospectre_v2 [X86,PPC,S390]
spectre_v2_user=off [X86]
spec_store_bypass_disable=off [X86,PPC]
l1tf=off [X86]
diff --git a/arch/s390/kernel/nospec-branch.c b/arch/s390/kernel/nospec-branch.c
index bdddaae96559..649135cbedd5 100644
--- a/arch/s390/kernel/nospec-branch.c
+++ b/arch/s390/kernel/nospec-branch.c
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
// SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
#include <linux/module.h>
#include <linux/device.h>
+#include <linux/cpu.h>
#include <asm/nospec-branch.h>

static int __init nobp_setup_early(char *str)
@@ -58,7 +59,7 @@ early_param("nospectre_v2", nospectre_v2_setup_early);

void __init nospec_auto_detect(void)
{
- if (test_facility(156)) {
+ if (test_facility(156) || cpu_mitigations_off()) {
/*
* The machine supports etokens.
* Disable expolines and disable nobp.
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-17 22:04    [W:0.138 / U:1.444 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site