lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:locking/core] locking/lock_events: Don't show pvqspinlock events on bare metal
Commit-ID:  bf20616f46e536fe8affed6f138db4b3040b55a6
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/bf20616f46e536fe8affed6f138db4b3040b55a6
Author: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 4 Apr 2019 13:43:18 -0400
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 10 Apr 2019 10:56:05 +0200

locking/lock_events: Don't show pvqspinlock events on bare metal

On bare metal, the pvqspinlock event counts will always be 0. So there
is no point in showing their corresponding debugfs files. So they are
skipped in this case.

Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Acked-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190404174320.22416-10-longman@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/locking/lock_events.c | 28 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
1 file changed, 27 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/locking/lock_events.c b/kernel/locking/lock_events.c
index 71c36d1fb834..fa2c2f951c6b 100644
--- a/kernel/locking/lock_events.c
+++ b/kernel/locking/lock_events.c
@@ -115,6 +115,29 @@ static const struct file_operations fops_lockevent = {
.llseek = default_llseek,
};

+#ifdef CONFIG_PARAVIRT_SPINLOCKS
+#include <asm/paravirt.h>
+
+static bool __init skip_lockevent(const char *name)
+{
+ static int pv_on __initdata = -1;
+
+ if (pv_on < 0)
+ pv_on = !pv_is_native_spin_unlock();
+ /*
+ * Skip PV qspinlock events on bare metal.
+ */
+ if (!pv_on && !memcmp(name, "pv_", 3))
+ return true;
+ return false;
+}
+#else
+static inline bool skip_lockevent(const char *name)
+{
+ return false;
+}
+#endif
+
/*
* Initialize debugfs for the locking event counts.
*/
@@ -133,10 +156,13 @@ static int __init init_lockevent_counts(void)
* root is allowed to do the read/write to limit impact to system
* performance.
*/
- for (i = 0; i < lockevent_num; i++)
+ for (i = 0; i < lockevent_num; i++) {
+ if (skip_lockevent(lockevent_names[i]))
+ continue;
if (!debugfs_create_file(lockevent_names[i], 0400, d_counts,
(void *)(long)i, &fops_lockevent))
goto fail_undo;
+ }

if (!debugfs_create_file(lockevent_names[LOCKEVENT_reset_cnts], 0200,
d_counts, (void *)(long)LOCKEVENT_reset_cnts,
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-16 12:08    [W:0.122 / U:9.240 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site