lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:locking/core] locking/rwsem: Micro-optimize rwsem_try_read_lock_unqueued()
Commit-ID:  a338ecb07a338c9a8b0ca0010e862ebe598b1551
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/a338ecb07a338c9a8b0ca0010e862ebe598b1551
Author: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 4 Apr 2019 13:43:13 -0400
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 10 Apr 2019 10:56:01 +0200

locking/rwsem: Micro-optimize rwsem_try_read_lock_unqueued()

The atomic_long_cmpxchg_acquire() in rwsem_try_read_lock_unqueued() is
replaced by atomic_long_try_cmpxchg_acquire() to simpify the code and
generate slightly better assembly code.

There is no functional change.

Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Acked-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190404174320.22416-5-longman@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/locking/rwsem-xadd.c | 15 +++++----------
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/locking/rwsem-xadd.c b/kernel/locking/rwsem-xadd.c
index c213869e1aa7..f6198e1a58f6 100644
--- a/kernel/locking/rwsem-xadd.c
+++ b/kernel/locking/rwsem-xadd.c
@@ -259,21 +259,16 @@ static inline bool rwsem_try_write_lock(long count, struct rw_semaphore *sem)
*/
static inline bool rwsem_try_write_lock_unqueued(struct rw_semaphore *sem)
{
- long old, count = atomic_long_read(&sem->count);
+ long count = atomic_long_read(&sem->count);

- while (true) {
- if (!(count == 0 || count == RWSEM_WAITING_BIAS))
- return false;
-
- old = atomic_long_cmpxchg_acquire(&sem->count, count,
- count + RWSEM_ACTIVE_WRITE_BIAS);
- if (old == count) {
+ while (!count || count == RWSEM_WAITING_BIAS) {
+ if (atomic_long_try_cmpxchg_acquire(&sem->count, &count,
+ count + RWSEM_ACTIVE_WRITE_BIAS)) {
rwsem_set_owner(sem);
return true;
}
-
- count = old;
}
+ return false;
}

static inline bool owner_on_cpu(struct task_struct *owner)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-16 12:06    [W:0.074 / U:27.860 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site