lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 02/76] x86/power/64: Use struct desc_ptr for the IDT in struct saved_context
Date
[ Upstream commit 090edbe23ff57940fca7f57d9165ce57a826bd7a ]

x86_64's saved_context nonsensically used separate idt_limit and
idt_base fields and then cast &idt_limit to struct desc_ptr *.

This was correct (with -fno-strict-aliasing), but it's confusing,
served no purpose, and required #ifdeffery. Simplify this by
using struct desc_ptr directly.

No change in functionality.

Tested-by: Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/967909ce38d341b01d45eff53e278e2728a3a93a.1513286253.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/suspend_64.h | 3 +--
arch/x86/power/cpu.c | 11 +----------
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 12 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/suspend_64.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/suspend_64.h
index 2bd96b4df140..ab899e5f3a85 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/suspend_64.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/suspend_64.h
@@ -29,8 +29,7 @@ struct saved_context {
u16 gdt_pad; /* Unused */
struct desc_ptr gdt_desc;
u16 idt_pad;
- u16 idt_limit;
- unsigned long idt_base;
+ struct desc_ptr idt;
u16 ldt;
u16 tss;
unsigned long tr;
diff --git a/arch/x86/power/cpu.c b/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
index 73063dfed476..ec923a1cdaf0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
+++ b/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
@@ -82,12 +82,8 @@ static void __save_processor_state(struct saved_context *ctxt)
/*
* descriptor tables
*/
-#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
store_idt(&ctxt->idt);
-#else
-/* CONFIG_X86_64 */
- store_idt((struct desc_ptr *)&ctxt->idt_limit);
-#endif
+
/*
* We save it here, but restore it only in the hibernate case.
* For ACPI S3 resume, this is loaded via 'early_gdt_desc' in 64-bit
@@ -215,12 +211,7 @@ static void notrace __restore_processor_state(struct saved_context *ctxt)
* now restore the descriptor tables to their proper values
* ltr is done i fix_processor_context().
*/
-#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
load_idt(&ctxt->idt);
-#else
-/* CONFIG_X86_64 */
- load_idt((const struct desc_ptr *)&ctxt->idt_limit);
-#endif

#ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
/*
--
2.19.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-15 20:52    [W:0.374 / U:9.380 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site