lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/4] lib/hexdump.c: Allow 64 bytes per line
On Sat 2019-04-13 09:22:05, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> > Sent: Friday, 12 April 2019 11:48 PM
> > To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@au1.ibm.com>
> > Cc: alastair@d-silva.org; Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>;
> Joonas
> > Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>; Rodrigo Vivi
> > <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>; David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>; Daniel Vetter
> > <daniel@ffwll.ch>; Karsten Keil <isdn@linux-pingi.de>; Jassi Brar
> > <jassisinghbrar@gmail.com>; Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>;
> > David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>; Jose Abreu
> > <Jose.Abreu@synopsys.com>; Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>;
> > Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>; Benson Leung
> > <bleung@chromium.org>; Enric Balletbo i Serra
> > <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>; James E.J. Bottomley
> > <jejb@linux.ibm.com>; Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>;
> > Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Alexander Viro
> > <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>; Sergey Senozhatsky
> > <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>; Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>;
> > Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; intel-
> > gfx@lists.freedesktop.org; dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org; linux-
> > kernel@vger.kernel.org; netdev@vger.kernel.org;
> > ath10k@lists.infradead.org; linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> > scsi@vger.kernel.org; linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org;
> > devel@driverdev.osuosl.org; linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
> > Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/4] lib/hexdump.c: Allow 64 bytes per line
> >
> > On Wed 2019-04-10 13:17:17, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> > > From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> > >
> > > With modern high resolution screens, we can display more data, which
> > > makes life a bit easier when debugging.
> >
> > I have quite some doubts about this feature.
> >
> > We are talking about more than 256 characters per-line. I wonder if such a
> > long line is really easier to read for a human.
>
> It's basically 2 separate panes of information side by side, the hexdump and
> the ASCII version.
>
> I'm using this myself when dealing with the pmem labels, and it works quite
> nicely.

I am sure that it works for you. But I do not believe that it
would be useful in general.


> > I am not expert but there is a reason why the standard is 80 characters
> per-
> > line. I guess that anything above 100 characters is questionable.
> > https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Line_length
> > somehow confirms that.
> >
> > Second, if we take 8 pixels per-character. Then we need
> > 2048 to show the 256 characters. It is more than HD.
> > IMHO, there is still huge number of people that even do not have HD
> display,
> > especially on a notebook.
>
> The intent is to make debugging easier when dealing with large chunks of
> binary data. I don't expect end users to see this output.

How is it supposed to be used then? Only by your temporary patches?

Best Regards,
Petr

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-15 11:03    [W:0.051 / U:5.468 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site