lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 04/69] x86/power/32: Move SYSENTER MSR restoration to fix_processor_context()
Date
[ Upstream commit 896c80bef4d3b357814a476663158aaf669d0fb3 ]

x86_64 restores system call MSRs in fix_processor_context(), and
x86_32 restored them along with segment registers. The 64-bit
variant makes more sense, so move the 32-bit code to match the
64-bit code.

No side effects are expected to runtime behavior.

Tested-by: Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/65158f8d7ee64dd6bbc6c1c83b3b34aaa854e3ae.1513286253.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/power/cpu.c | 9 +++------
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/power/cpu.c b/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
index cba2e2c3f89e..8e1668470b23 100644
--- a/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
+++ b/arch/x86/power/cpu.c
@@ -176,6 +176,9 @@ static void fix_processor_context(void)
write_gdt_entry(desc, GDT_ENTRY_TSS, &tss, DESC_TSS);

syscall_init(); /* This sets MSR_*STAR and related */
+#else
+ if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_SEP))
+ enable_sep_cpu();
#endif
load_TR_desc(); /* This does ltr */
load_mm_ldt(current->active_mm); /* This does lldt */
@@ -239,12 +242,6 @@ static void notrace __restore_processor_state(struct saved_context *ctxt)
loadsegment(fs, ctxt->fs);
loadsegment(gs, ctxt->gs);
loadsegment(ss, ctxt->ss);
-
- /*
- * sysenter MSRs
- */
- if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_SEP))
- enable_sep_cpu();
#else
/* CONFIG_X86_64 */
asm volatile ("movw %0, %%ds" :: "r" (ctxt->ds));
--
2.19.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-15 21:32    [W:0.203 / U:0.412 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site