lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/fpu] x86/fpu: Only write PKRU if it is different from current
Commit-ID:  577ff465f5a6a5a0866d75a033844810baca20a0
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/577ff465f5a6a5a0866d75a033844810baca20a0
Author: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
AuthorDate: Wed, 3 Apr 2019 18:41:42 +0200
Committer: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
CommitDate: Thu, 11 Apr 2019 15:41:05 +0200

x86/fpu: Only write PKRU if it is different from current

According to Dave Hansen, WRPKRU is more expensive than RDPKRU. It has
a higher cycle cost and it's also practically a (light) speculation
barrier.

As an optimisation read the current PKRU value and only write the new
one if it is different.

Signed-off-by: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: kvm ML <kvm@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190403164156.19645-14-bigeasy@linutronix.de
---
arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h | 7 +++++++
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h
index 34897e2b52c9..0a3c4cab39db 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h
@@ -121,6 +121,13 @@ static inline void wrpkru(u32 pkru)

static inline void __write_pkru(u32 pkru)
{
+ /*
+ * WRPKRU is relatively expensive compared to RDPKRU.
+ * Avoid WRPKRU when it would not change the value.
+ */
+ if (pkru == rdpkru())
+ return;
+
wrpkru(pkru);
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-13 22:55    [W:0.160 / U:4.360 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site