lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 2/4] lib/hexdump.c: Optionally suppress lines of filler bytes
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> Sent: Saturday, 13 April 2019 12:04 AM
> To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@au1.ibm.com>
> Cc: alastair@d-silva.org; Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>;
Joonas
> Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>; Rodrigo Vivi
> <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>; David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>; Daniel Vetter
> <daniel@ffwll.ch>; Karsten Keil <isdn@linux-pingi.de>; Jassi Brar
> <jassisinghbrar@gmail.com>; Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>;
> David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>; Jose Abreu
> <Jose.Abreu@synopsys.com>; Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>;
> Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>; Benson Leung
> <bleung@chromium.org>; Enric Balletbo i Serra
> <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>; James E.J. Bottomley
> <jejb@linux.ibm.com>; Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>;
> Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Alexander Viro
> <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>; Sergey Senozhatsky
> <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>; Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>;
> Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; intel-
> gfx@lists.freedesktop.org; dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org; linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org; netdev@vger.kernel.org;
> ath10k@lists.infradead.org; linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> scsi@vger.kernel.org; linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org;
> devel@driverdev.osuosl.org; linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] lib/hexdump.c: Optionally suppress lines of
filler
> bytes
>
> On Wed 2019-04-10 13:17:18, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> > From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> >
> > Some buffers may only be partially filled with useful data, while the
> > rest is padded (typically with 0x00 or 0xff).
> >
> > This patch introduces flags which allow lines of padding bytes to be
> > suppressed, making the output easier to interpret:
> > HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_0X00, HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_0XFF
> >
> > The first and last lines are not suppressed by default, so the
> > function always outputs something. This behaviour can be further
> > controlled with the HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_FIRST &
> HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_LAST flags.
> >
> > An inline wrapper function is provided for backwards compatibility
> > with existing code, which maintains the original behaviour.
> >
>
> > diff --git a/lib/hexdump.c b/lib/hexdump.c index
> > b8a164814744..2f3bafb55a44 100644
> > --- a/lib/hexdump.c
> > +++ b/lib/hexdump.c
> > +void print_hex_dump_ext(const char *level, const char *prefix_str,
> > + int prefix_type, int rowsize, int groupsize,
> > + const void *buf, size_t len, u64 flags)
> > {
> > const u8 *ptr = buf;
> > - int i, linelen, remaining = len;
> > + int i, remaining = len;
> > unsigned char linebuf[64 * 3 + 2 + 64 + 1];
> > + bool first_line = true;
> >
> > if (rowsize != 16 && rowsize != 32 && rowsize != 64)
> > rowsize = 16;
> >
> > for (i = 0; i < len; i += rowsize) {
> > - linelen = min(remaining, rowsize);
> > + bool skip = false;
> > + int linelen = min(remaining, rowsize);
> > +
> > remaining -= rowsize;
> >
> > + if (flags & HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_0X00)
> > + skip = buf_is_all(ptr + i, linelen, 0x00);
> > +
> > + if (!skip && (flags & HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_0XFF))
> > + skip = buf_is_all(ptr + i, linelen, 0xff);
> > +
> > + if (first_line && !(flags & HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_FIRST))
> > + skip = false;
> > +
> > + if (remaining <= 0 && !(flags & HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_LAST))
> > + skip = false;
> > +
> > + if (skip)
> > + continue;
>
> IMHO, quietly skipping lines could cause a lot of confusion, espcially
when
> the address is not printed.
>
It's up to the caller to decide how they want it displayed.

> I wonder how it would look like when we print something like:
>
> --- skipped XX lines full of 0x00 ---

This could be added as a later enhancement, with a new flag (eg.
HEXDUMP_SUPPRESS_VERBOSE).

>
> Then we might even remove the SUPPRESS_FIRST, SUPPRESS_LAST and the
> ambiguous QUIET flags.
>
> > +
> > + first_line = false;
>
> This should be above the if (skip).
>
> > +
> > hex_dump_to_buffer(ptr + i, linelen, rowsize, groupsize,
> > - linebuf, sizeof(linebuf), ascii);
> > + linebuf, sizeof(linebuf),
> > + flags & HEXDUMP_ASCII);
> >
> > switch (prefix_type) {
> > case DUMP_PREFIX_ADDRESS:
> > @@ -272,7 +316,7 @@ void print_hex_dump(const char *level, const char
> *prefix_str, int prefix_type,
> > }
> > }
> > }
> > -EXPORT_SYMBOL(print_hex_dump);
> > +EXPORT_SYMBOL(print_hex_dump_ext);
>
> We should still export even the original function that is still used
everywhere.

It's replaced with an inline wrapper function, there's no need to export it.

--
Alastair D'Silva mob: 0423 762 819
skype: alastair_dsilva msn: alastair@d-silva.org
blog: http://alastair.d-silva.org Twitter: @EvilDeece



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-13 01:29    [W:0.083 / U:49.036 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site