lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.0 127/146] iommu/io-pgtable-arm-v7s: request DMA32 memory, and improve debugging
Date
5.0-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@chromium.org>

commit 0a352554da69b02f75ca3389c885c741f1f63235 upstream.

IOMMUs using ARMv7 short-descriptor format require page tables (level 1
and 2) to be allocated within the first 4GB of RAM, even on 64-bit
systems.

For level 1/2 pages, ensure GFP_DMA32 is used if CONFIG_ZONE_DMA32 is
defined (e.g. on arm64 platforms).

For level 2 pages, allocate a slab cache in SLAB_CACHE_DMA32. Note that
we do not explicitly pass GFP_DMA[32] to kmem_cache_zalloc, as this is
not strictly necessary, and would cause a warning in mm/sl*b.c, as we
did not update GFP_SLAB_BUG_MASK.

Also, print an error when the physical address does not fit in
32-bit, to make debugging easier in the future.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181210011504.122604-3-drinkcat@chromium.org
Fixes: ad67f5a6545f ("arm64: replace ZONE_DMA with ZONE_DMA32")
Signed-off-by: Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@chromium.org>
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
Cc: Huaisheng Ye <yehs1@lenovo.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Sasha Levin <Alexander.Levin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Tomasz Figa <tfiga@google.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@mediatek.com>
Cc: Yong Wu <yong.wu@mediatek.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
drivers/iommu/io-pgtable-arm-v7s.c | 19 +++++++++++++++----
1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

--- a/drivers/iommu/io-pgtable-arm-v7s.c
+++ b/drivers/iommu/io-pgtable-arm-v7s.c
@@ -161,6 +161,14 @@

#define ARM_V7S_TCR_PD1 BIT(5)

+#ifdef CONFIG_ZONE_DMA32
+#define ARM_V7S_TABLE_GFP_DMA GFP_DMA32
+#define ARM_V7S_TABLE_SLAB_FLAGS SLAB_CACHE_DMA32
+#else
+#define ARM_V7S_TABLE_GFP_DMA GFP_DMA
+#define ARM_V7S_TABLE_SLAB_FLAGS SLAB_CACHE_DMA
+#endif
+
typedef u32 arm_v7s_iopte;

static bool selftest_running;
@@ -198,13 +206,16 @@ static void *__arm_v7s_alloc_table(int l
void *table = NULL;

if (lvl == 1)
- table = (void *)__get_dma_pages(__GFP_ZERO, get_order(size));
+ table = (void *)__get_free_pages(
+ __GFP_ZERO | ARM_V7S_TABLE_GFP_DMA, get_order(size));
else if (lvl == 2)
- table = kmem_cache_zalloc(data->l2_tables, gfp | GFP_DMA);
+ table = kmem_cache_zalloc(data->l2_tables, gfp);
phys = virt_to_phys(table);
- if (phys != (arm_v7s_iopte)phys)
+ if (phys != (arm_v7s_iopte)phys) {
/* Doesn't fit in PTE */
+ dev_err(dev, "Page table does not fit in PTE: %pa", &phys);
goto out_free;
+ }
if (table && !(cfg->quirks & IO_PGTABLE_QUIRK_NO_DMA)) {
dma = dma_map_single(dev, table, size, DMA_TO_DEVICE);
if (dma_mapping_error(dev, dma))
@@ -733,7 +744,7 @@ static struct io_pgtable *arm_v7s_alloc_
data->l2_tables = kmem_cache_create("io-pgtable_armv7s_l2",
ARM_V7S_TABLE_SIZE(2),
ARM_V7S_TABLE_SIZE(2),
- SLAB_CACHE_DMA, NULL);
+ ARM_V7S_TABLE_SLAB_FLAGS, NULL);
if (!data->l2_tables)
goto out_free_data;


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-01 20:07    [W:0.337 / U:26.012 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site