lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH for 5.1 1/3] rseq: cleanup: Reflect removal of event counter in comments
Date
The "event counter" was removed from rseq before it was merged upstream.
However, a few comments in the source code still refer to it. Adapt the
comments to match reality.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
CC: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
CC: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
CC: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
---
arch/arm/kernel/signal.c | 3 +--
arch/x86/kernel/signal.c | 5 +----
kernel/rseq.c | 3 +--
3 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/signal.c b/arch/arm/kernel/signal.c
index 76bb8de6bf6b..be5edfdde558 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/signal.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/signal.c
@@ -549,8 +549,7 @@ static void handle_signal(struct ksignal *ksig, struct pt_regs *regs)
int ret;

/*
- * Increment event counter and perform fixup for the pre-signal
- * frame.
+ * Perform fixup for the pre-signal frame.
*/
rseq_signal_deliver(ksig, regs);

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/signal.c b/arch/x86/kernel/signal.c
index 08dfd4c1a4f9..22c233b509da 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/signal.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/signal.c
@@ -688,10 +688,7 @@ setup_rt_frame(struct ksignal *ksig, struct pt_regs *regs)
sigset_t *set = sigmask_to_save();
compat_sigset_t *cset = (compat_sigset_t *) set;

- /*
- * Increment event counter and perform fixup for the pre-signal
- * frame.
- */
+ /* Perform fixup for the pre-signal frame. */
rseq_signal_deliver(ksig, regs);

/* Set up the stack frame */
diff --git a/kernel/rseq.c b/kernel/rseq.c
index 25e9a7b60eba..849afe749131 100644
--- a/kernel/rseq.c
+++ b/kernel/rseq.c
@@ -254,8 +254,7 @@ static int rseq_ip_fixup(struct pt_regs *regs)
* - signal delivery,
* and return to user-space.
*
- * This is how we can ensure that the entire rseq critical section,
- * consisting of both the C part and the assembly instruction sequence,
+ * This is how we can ensure that the entire rseq critical section
* will issue the commit instruction only if executed atomically with
* respect to other threads scheduled on the same CPU, and with respect
* to signal handlers.
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-05 20:49    [W:0.187 / U:0.100 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site