lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH for 5.1 2/3] rseq: cleanup: remove rseq_len from task_struct
Date
The rseq system call, when invoked with flags of "0" or
"RSEQ_FLAG_UNREGISTER" values, expects the rseq_len parameter to
be equal to sizeof(struct rseq), which is fixed-size and fixed-layout,
specified in uapi linux/rseq.h.

Expecting a fixed size for rseq_len is a design choice that ensures
multiple libraries and application defining __rseq_abi in the same
process agree on its exact size.

Considering that this size is and will always be the same value, there
is no point in saving this value within task_struct rseq_len. Remove
this field from task_struct.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
CC: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
CC: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
CC: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
CC: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
---
include/linux/sched.h | 4 ----
kernel/rseq.c | 6 ++----
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/sched.h b/include/linux/sched.h
index f9b43c989577..e355688fa82c 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched.h
@@ -1059,7 +1059,6 @@ struct task_struct {

#ifdef CONFIG_RSEQ
struct rseq __user *rseq;
- u32 rseq_len;
u32 rseq_sig;
/*
* RmW on rseq_event_mask must be performed atomically
@@ -1852,12 +1851,10 @@ static inline void rseq_fork(struct task_struct *t, unsigned long clone_flags)
{
if (clone_flags & CLONE_THREAD) {
t->rseq = NULL;
- t->rseq_len = 0;
t->rseq_sig = 0;
t->rseq_event_mask = 0;
} else {
t->rseq = current->rseq;
- t->rseq_len = current->rseq_len;
t->rseq_sig = current->rseq_sig;
t->rseq_event_mask = current->rseq_event_mask;
}
@@ -1866,7 +1863,6 @@ static inline void rseq_fork(struct task_struct *t, unsigned long clone_flags)
static inline void rseq_execve(struct task_struct *t)
{
t->rseq = NULL;
- t->rseq_len = 0;
t->rseq_sig = 0;
t->rseq_event_mask = 0;
}
diff --git a/kernel/rseq.c b/kernel/rseq.c
index 849afe749131..9424ee90589e 100644
--- a/kernel/rseq.c
+++ b/kernel/rseq.c
@@ -313,7 +313,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(rseq, struct rseq __user *, rseq, u32, rseq_len,
/* Unregister rseq for current thread. */
if (current->rseq != rseq || !current->rseq)
return -EINVAL;
- if (current->rseq_len != rseq_len)
+ if (rseq_len != sizeof(*rseq))
return -EINVAL;
if (current->rseq_sig != sig)
return -EPERM;
@@ -321,7 +321,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(rseq, struct rseq __user *, rseq, u32, rseq_len,
if (ret)
return ret;
current->rseq = NULL;
- current->rseq_len = 0;
current->rseq_sig = 0;
return 0;
}
@@ -335,7 +334,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(rseq, struct rseq __user *, rseq, u32, rseq_len,
* the provided address differs from the prior
* one.
*/
- if (current->rseq != rseq || current->rseq_len != rseq_len)
+ if (current->rseq != rseq || rseq_len != sizeof(*rseq))
return -EINVAL;
if (current->rseq_sig != sig)
return -EPERM;
@@ -353,7 +352,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(rseq, struct rseq __user *, rseq, u32, rseq_len,
if (!access_ok(rseq, rseq_len))
return -EFAULT;
current->rseq = rseq;
- current->rseq_len = rseq_len;
current->rseq_sig = sig;
/*
* If rseq was previously inactive, and has just been
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-05 20:49    [W:0.152 / U:0.600 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site