lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH RESEND v7 0/3] Mixel DPHY support for i.MX8
Date
Rob Herring pointed out that I had the mailing lists wrong. So this is a
resend of v7 with the full list from get_maintainers added.

This adds initial support for the Mixel IP based mipi dphy as found on i.MX8
processors. It has support for the i.MX8MQ, support for other variants can be
added - once the platform specific parts are in - via the provided devdata.
The driver is somewhat based on what's found in NXPs BSP.

Public documentation on the DPHY's registers is currently thin in the i.MX8
reference manuals (even on the i.MX8QXP form 11/18) so most of the values were
taken from existing drivers. Newer NXP drivers have a bit more details so where
possible the timings are calculated and validated.

I've also sent out an initial version of a NWL mipi dsi host controller driver
using this:

https://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/dri-devel/2019-March/209685.html

Robert Chiras (the author of the corresponding driver in NXPs vendor tree) got
this driver to work in his tree as well:

https://www.spinics.net/lists/arm-kernel/msg711950.html

Chages from v6
* Depend on HAS_IOMEM (fixes a build problem on UM spotted by kbuild)

Chages from v5
* Fix build problems on mips (spotted by the kbuild test robot) by using u32
consistently and long long for lp_t.

Changes from v4
* Build by default on ARCH_MXC && ARM64

Changes form v3
* Check correct variable after devm_ioremap_resource
* Add Robert Chiras as Co-authored-by since he's the author
of the driver in NXPs BSP.

Changes from v2
* As per review comments from Fabio Estevam
* KConfig: select REGMAP_MMIO
* Drop phy_read
* Don't make phy_write inline
* Remove duplicate debugging output
* Comment style and typo fixes
* Add #defines's for PLL lock timing values
* Return correct error value when PLL fails to lock
* Check error when enabling clock
* Use devm_ioremap_resource
* As per review comments from Robert Chiras
* Deassert PD_DPHY after PLL lock (as per mixel ref manual)
* Assert PD_{DPHY,PLL} before power on (as per mixel ref manual)manual
* Add exit phy_op to reset CN/CM/CO

Changes from v1
* As per review comments from Fabio Estevam
* Kconfig: tristate mixel dphy support.
* Drop unused 'ret' in mixel_dphy_ref_power_off.
* Match values of DPHY_RXL{PRP,DRP} to those of
https://source.codeaurora.org/external/imx/linux-imx/log/?h=imx_4.14.78_1.0.0_ga
The previous values were based on 4.9.
* Use resource size on devm_ioremap, we have that in dt already.
* Use regmap so it's simple to dump the registers.
* Use regmap_read_poll_timeout instead of open coded loop.
* Add undocumented rxhs_settle register
* As per review comments from Sam Ravnborg
* Move driver to d/phy/freescale/
* Move SPDX-License-Identifier to top of file.
* Drop '/* #define DEBUG 1 */'.
* Use GPL-2.0+ since the vendor driver uses that as well.
* Drop the mutex, register access is now protected by regmap.
* Fix various style / indentation issues.
* Check for register read, write and ioremap errors
* Improve phy timing calculations
* Use LP clock rate where sensible, check for errors
* Use ad hoc forumulas for timings involving hs clock
* Switch from dphy_ops to devdata. Other i.MX8 variants
differ in register layout too
* Add Mixel Inc to vendor-prefixes.txt

To: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>,"Andreas Färber" <afaerber@suse.de>,Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>,Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,Abel Vesa <abel.vesa@nxp.com>,Li Jun <jun.li@nxp.com>,linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,devicetree@vger.kernel.org,linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,Robert Chiras <robert.chiras@nxp.com>,Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>


Guido Günther (3):
dt-bindings: Add vendor prefix for Mixel Inc
dt-bindings: phy: Add documentation for mixel dphy
phy: Add driver for mixel dphy found on imx8

.../bindings/phy/mixel,mipi-dsi-phy.txt | 29 +
.../devicetree/bindings/vendor-prefixes.txt | 1 +
drivers/phy/freescale/Kconfig | 11 +
drivers/phy/freescale/Makefile | 1 +
.../phy/freescale/phy-fsl-imx8-mipi-dphy.c | 506 ++++++++++++++++++
5 files changed, 548 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/phy/mixel,mipi-dsi-phy.txt
create mode 100644 drivers/phy/freescale/phy-fsl-imx8-mipi-dphy.c

--
2.20.1

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-27 09:21    [W:0.087 / U:34.352 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site