lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.0 015/262] memblock: memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(): don't panic
Date
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>

[ Upstream commit 337555744e6e39dd1d87698c6084dd88a606d60a ]

The memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid() function tries to allocate memory from
the requested node and then falls back to allocation from any node in
the system. The memblock_alloc_base() fallback used by this function
panics if the allocation fails.

Replace the memblock_alloc_base() fallback with the direct call to
memblock_alloc_range_nid() and update the memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid()
callers to check the returned value and panic in case of error.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-7-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> [powerpc]
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky]
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen]
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/arm64/mm/numa.c | 4 ++++
arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c | 4 ++++
mm/memblock.c | 4 +++-
3 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
index ae34e3a1cef1..2c61ea4e290b 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
@@ -237,6 +237,10 @@ static void __init setup_node_data(int nid, u64 start_pfn, u64 end_pfn)
pr_info("Initmem setup node %d [<memory-less node>]\n", nid);

nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!nd_pa)
+ panic("Cannot allocate %zu bytes for node %d data\n",
+ nd_size, nid);
+
nd = __va(nd_pa);

/* report and initialize */
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
index 87f0dd004295..8ec2ed30d44c 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
@@ -788,6 +788,10 @@ static void __init setup_node_data(int nid, u64 start_pfn, u64 end_pfn)
int tnid;

nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!nd_pa)
+ panic("Cannot allocate %zu bytes for node %d data\n",
+ nd_size, nid);
+
nd = __va(nd_pa);

/* report and initialize */
diff --git a/mm/memblock.c b/mm/memblock.c
index ea31045ba704..d5923df56acc 100644
--- a/mm/memblock.c
+++ b/mm/memblock.c
@@ -1342,7 +1342,9 @@ phys_addr_t __init memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(phys_addr_t size, phys_addr_t ali

if (res)
return res;
- return memblock_alloc_base(size, align, MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE);
+ return memblock_alloc_range_nid(size, align, 0,
+ MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE,
+ NUMA_NO_NODE, MEMBLOCK_NONE);
}

/**
--
2.19.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-27 20:35    [W:0.666 / U:4.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site