lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 134/192] sched/debug: Initialize sd_sysctl_cpus if !CONFIG_CPUMASK_OFFSTACK
Date
From: Hidetoshi Seto <seto.hidetoshi@jp.fujitsu.com>

[ Upstream commit 1ca4fa3ab604734e38e2a3000c9abf788512ffa7 ]

register_sched_domain_sysctl() copies the cpu_possible_mask into
sd_sysctl_cpus, but only if sd_sysctl_cpus hasn't already been
allocated (ie, CONFIG_CPUMASK_OFFSTACK is set). However, when
CONFIG_CPUMASK_OFFSTACK is not set, sd_sysctl_cpus is left
uninitialized (all zeroes) and the kernel may fail to initialize
sched_domain sysctl entries for all possible CPUs.

This is visible to the user if the kernel is booted with maxcpus=n, or
if ACPI tables have been modified to leave CPUs offline, and then
checking for missing /proc/sys/kernel/sched_domain/cpu* entries.

Fix this by separating the allocation and initialization, and adding a
flag to initialize the possible CPU entries while system booting only.

Tested-by: Syuuichirou Ishii <ishii.shuuichir@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tested-by: Tarumizu, Kohei <tarumizu.kohei@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Hidetoshi Seto <seto.hidetoshi@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Masayoshi Mizuma <m.mizuma@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Masayoshi Mizuma <msys.mizuma@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190129151245.5073-1-msys.mizuma@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/debug.c | 4 ++++
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/debug.c b/kernel/sched/debug.c
index 6383aa6a60ca..141ea9ff210e 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/debug.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/debug.c
@@ -315,6 +315,7 @@ void register_sched_domain_sysctl(void)
{
static struct ctl_table *cpu_entries;
static struct ctl_table **cpu_idx;
+ static bool init_done = false;
char buf[32];
int i;

@@ -344,7 +345,10 @@ void register_sched_domain_sysctl(void)
if (!cpumask_available(sd_sysctl_cpus)) {
if (!alloc_cpumask_var(&sd_sysctl_cpus, GFP_KERNEL))
return;
+ }

+ if (!init_done) {
+ init_done = true;
/* init to possible to not have holes in @cpu_entries */
cpumask_copy(sd_sysctl_cpus, cpu_possible_mask);
}
--
2.19.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-27 20:02    [W:0.386 / U:10.380 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site