lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] mm: mempolicy: make mbind() return -EIO when MPOL_MF_STRICT is specified
On Wed, 20 Mar 2019, Yang Shi wrote:

> When MPOL_MF_STRICT was specified and an existing page was already
> on a node that does not follow the policy, mbind() should return -EIO.
> But commit 6f4576e3687b ("mempolicy: apply page table walker on
> queue_pages_range()") broke the rule.
>
> And, commit c8633798497c ("mm: mempolicy: mbind and migrate_pages
> support thp migration") didn't return the correct value for THP mbind()
> too.
>
> If MPOL_MF_STRICT is set, ignore vma_migratable() to make sure it reaches
> queue_pages_to_pte_range() or queue_pages_pmd() to check if an existing
> page was already on a node that does not follow the policy. And,
> non-migratable vma may be used, return -EIO too if MPOL_MF_MOVE or
> MPOL_MF_MOVE_ALL was specified.
>
> Tested with https://github.com/metan-ucw/ltp/blob/master/testcases/kernel/syscalls/mbind/mbind02.c
>
> Fixes: 6f4576e3687b ("mempolicy: apply page table walker on queue_pages_range()")
> Reported-by: Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
> Suggested-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
> Signed-off-by: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
> Signed-off-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>

Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>

Thanks. I think this needs stable for 4.0+, can you confirm?

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-20 01:49    [W:0.106 / U:0.204 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site