lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3] mtd: rawnand: atmel: fix possible object reference leak
Hi Wen,

For the next version can you please post a series with the three
commits which are fixing the same reference leak? No need to add a
cover letter though.

Wen Yang <yellowriver2010@hotmail.com> wrote on Tue, 5 Feb 2019
14:32:41 +0000:

> of_find_device_by_node() takes a reference to the struct device
> when it finds a match via get_device, there is no need to call
> get_device() twice.
> We also should make sure to drop the reference to the device
> taken by of_find_device_by_node() on driver unbind.
>
> Fixes: f88fc122cc34 ("mtd: nand: Cleanup/rework the atmel_nand driver")
> Signed-off-by: Wen Yang <yellowriver2010@hotmail.com>
> Suggested-by: Boris Brezillon <bbrezillon@kernel.org>
> Reviewed-by: Boris Brezillon <bbrezillon@kernel.org>
> Reviewed-by: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>
> Acked-by: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>
> Cc: Tudor Ambarus <tudor.ambarus@microchip.com>
> Cc: Boris Brezillon <bbrezillon@kernel.org>
> Cc: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>
> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
> Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
> Cc: Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com>
> Cc: Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@gmail.com>
> Cc: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>
> Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>
> Cc: Ludovic Desroches <ludovic.desroches@microchip.com>
> Cc: linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> ---
> drivers/mtd/nand/raw/atmel/pmecc.c | 18 ++++++++++++++----
> 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/atmel/pmecc.c b/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/atmel/pmecc.c
> index 555a74e..1477368 100644
> --- a/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/atmel/pmecc.c
> +++ b/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/atmel/pmecc.c
> @@ -876,16 +876,22 @@ static struct atmel_pmecc *atmel_pmecc_get_by_node(struct device *userdev,
> {
> struct platform_device *pdev;
> struct atmel_pmecc *pmecc, **ptr;
> + int ret;
>
> pdev = of_find_device_by_node(np);
> - if (!pdev || !platform_get_drvdata(pdev))
> + if (!pdev)
> return ERR_PTR(-EPROBE_DEFER);
> + if (!platform_get_drvdata(pdev)) {
> + ret = -EPROBE_DEFER;
> + goto err_put_device;
> + }
>
> ptr = devres_alloc(devm_atmel_pmecc_put, sizeof(*ptr), GFP_KERNEL);
> - if (!ptr)
> - return ERR_PTR(-ENOMEM);
> + if (!ptr) {
> + ret = -ENOMEM;
> + goto err_put_device;
> + }
>
> - get_device(&pdev->dev);
> pmecc = platform_get_drvdata(pdev);

I just realized in the three cases, a first call
to platform_get_drvdata() is done to check if the returned pointer is
valid, and then a second one is done to actually retrieve the pointer.
Please avoid this repetition.


Thanks,
Miquèl

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-05 20:13    [W:0.030 / U:9.056 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site