lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v5 8/9] mm/mmu_notifier: mmu_notifier_range_update_to_read_only() helper
From
Date

On 2/19/19 12:04 PM, jglisse@redhat.com wrote:
> From: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
>
> Helper to test if a range is updated to read only (it is still valid
> to read from the range). This is useful for device driver or anyone
> who wish to optimize out update when they know that they already have
> the range map read only.
>
> Signed-off-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
> Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
> Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
> Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
> Cc: Felix Kuehling <Felix.Kuehling@amd.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
> Cc: Ross Zwisler <zwisler@kernel.org>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
> Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
> Cc: Christian Koenig <christian.koenig@amd.com>
> Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
> Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
> Cc: linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> ---
> include/linux/mmu_notifier.h | 4 ++++
> mm/mmu_notifier.c | 10 ++++++++++
> 2 files changed, 14 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h b/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
> index 0379956fff23..b6c004bd9f6a 100644
> --- a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
> +++ b/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
> @@ -259,6 +259,8 @@ extern void __mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_end(struct mmu_notifier_range *r,
> bool only_end);
> extern void __mmu_notifier_invalidate_range(struct mm_struct *mm,
> unsigned long start, unsigned long end);
> +extern bool
> +mmu_notifier_range_update_to_read_only(const struct mmu_notifier_range *range);
>
> static inline bool
> mmu_notifier_range_blockable(const struct mmu_notifier_range *range)
> @@ -568,6 +570,8 @@ static inline void mmu_notifier_mm_destroy(struct mm_struct *mm)
> {
> }
>
> +#define mmu_notifier_range_update_to_read_only(r) false
> +
> #define ptep_clear_flush_young_notify ptep_clear_flush_young
> #define pmdp_clear_flush_young_notify pmdp_clear_flush_young
> #define ptep_clear_young_notify ptep_test_and_clear_young
> diff --git a/mm/mmu_notifier.c b/mm/mmu_notifier.c
> index abd88c466eb2..ee36068077b6 100644
> --- a/mm/mmu_notifier.c
> +++ b/mm/mmu_notifier.c
> @@ -395,3 +395,13 @@ void mmu_notifier_unregister_no_release(struct mmu_notifier *mn,
> mmdrop(mm);
> }
> EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(mmu_notifier_unregister_no_release);
> +
> +bool
> +mmu_notifier_range_update_to_read_only(const struct mmu_notifier_range *range)
> +{
> + if (!range->vma || range->event != MMU_NOTIFY_PROTECTION_VMA)
> + return false;
> + /* Return true if the vma still have the read flag set. */
> + return range->vma->vm_flags & VM_READ;
> +}
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(mmu_notifier_range_update_to_read_only);
>

Don't you have to check for !WRITE & READ?
mprotect() can change the permissions from R/O to RW and
end up calling mmu_notifier_range_init() and
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_start()/end().

I'm not sure how useful this is since only applies to the
MMU_NOTIFY_PROTECTION_VMA case.
Anyway, you can add

Reviewed-by: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-22 23:42    [W:0.117 / U:0.104 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site