lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v5 7/9] mm/mmu_notifier: pass down vma and reasons why mmu notifier is happening v2
Date
From: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>

CPU page table update can happens for many reasons, not only as a result
of a syscall (munmap(), mprotect(), mremap(), madvise(), ...) but also
as a result of kernel activities (memory compression, reclaim, migration,
...).

Users of mmu notifier API track changes to the CPU page table and take
specific action for them. While current API only provide range of virtual
address affected by the change, not why the changes is happening

This patch is just passing down the new informations by adding it to the
mmu_notifier_range structure.

Changes since v1:
- Initialize flags field from mmu_notifier_range_init() arguments

Signed-off-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Felix Kuehling <Felix.Kuehling@amd.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <zwisler@kernel.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Christian Koenig <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
---
include/linux/mmu_notifier.h | 6 +++++-
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h b/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
index 62f94cd85455..0379956fff23 100644
--- a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
+++ b/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
@@ -58,10 +58,12 @@ struct mmu_notifier_mm {
#define MMU_NOTIFIER_RANGE_BLOCKABLE (1 << 0)

struct mmu_notifier_range {
+ struct vm_area_struct *vma;
struct mm_struct *mm;
unsigned long start;
unsigned long end;
unsigned flags;
+ enum mmu_notifier_event event;
};

struct mmu_notifier_ops {
@@ -363,10 +365,12 @@ static inline void mmu_notifier_range_init(struct mmu_notifier_range *range,
unsigned long start,
unsigned long end)
{
+ range->vma = vma;
+ range->event = event;
range->mm = mm;
range->start = start;
range->end = end;
- range->flags = 0;
+ range->flags = flags;
}

#define ptep_clear_flush_young_notify(__vma, __address, __ptep) \
--
2.17.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-19 21:06    [W:0.098 / U:12.900 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site