lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.20 098/352] arm64: ftrace: dont adjust the LR value
Date
4.20-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

[ Upstream commit 6e803e2e6e367db9a0d6ecae1bd24bb5752011bd ]

The core ftrace code requires that when it is handed the PC of an
instrumented function, this PC is the address of the instrumented
instruction. This is necessary so that the core ftrace code can identify
the specific instrumentation site. Since the instrumented function will
be a BL, the address of the instrumented function is LR - 4 at entry to
the ftrace code.

This fixup is applied in the mcount_get_pc and mcount_get_pc0 helpers,
which acquire the PC of the instrumented function.

The mcount_get_lr helper is used to acquire the LR of the instrumented
function, whose value does not require this adjustment, and cannot be
adjusted to anything meaningful. No adjustment of this value is made on
other architectures, including arm. However, arm64 adjusts this value by
4.

This patch brings arm64 in line with other architectures and removes the
adjustment of the LR value.

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: AKASHI Takahiro <takahiro.akashi@linaro.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Torsten Duwe <duwe@suse.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/arm64/kernel/entry-ftrace.S | 1 -
1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry-ftrace.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry-ftrace.S
index 1175f5827ae1..295951f3172e 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry-ftrace.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry-ftrace.S
@@ -79,7 +79,6 @@
.macro mcount_get_lr reg
ldr \reg, [x29]
ldr \reg, [\reg, #8]
- mcount_adjust_addr \reg, \reg
.endm

.macro mcount_get_lr_addr reg
--
2.19.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-11 17:10    [W:0.769 / U:0.552 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site