lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 001/313] devres: Align data[] to ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN
Date
4.19-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Alexey Brodkin <alexey.brodkin@synopsys.com>

commit a66d972465d15b1d89281258805eb8b47d66bd36 upstream.

Initially we bumped into problem with 32-bit aligned atomic64_t
on ARC, see [1]. And then during quite lengthly discussion Peter Z.
mentioned ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN which IMHO makes perfect sense.
If allocation is done by plain kmalloc() obtained buffer will be
ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN aligned and then why buffer obtained via
devm_kmalloc() should have any other alignment?

This way we at least get the same behavior for both types of
allocation.

[1] http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/linux-snps-arc/2018-July/004009.html
[2] http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/linux-snps-arc/2018-July/004036.html

Signed-off-by: Alexey Brodkin <abrodkin@synopsys.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 4.8+
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
drivers/base/devres.c | 10 ++++++++--
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/drivers/base/devres.c
+++ b/drivers/base/devres.c
@@ -24,8 +24,14 @@ struct devres_node {

struct devres {
struct devres_node node;
- /* -- 3 pointers */
- unsigned long long data[]; /* guarantee ull alignment */
+ /*
+ * Some archs want to perform DMA into kmalloc caches
+ * and need a guaranteed alignment larger than
+ * the alignment of a 64-bit integer.
+ * Thus we use ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN here and get exactly the same
+ * buffer alignment as if it was allocated by plain kmalloc().
+ */
+ u8 __aligned(ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN) data[];
};

struct devres_group {

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-11 16:51    [W:0.735 / U:4.408 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site