lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/3] mm/mincore: make mincore() more conservative
From
Date
Here's updated version with Michal's suggestion, and acks:

I think this patch is fine to go, less sure about 2/3 and 3/3.

----8<----
From 49f17d9f6a42ecc2a508125b0c880ff0402a6f49 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Date: Wed, 16 Jan 2019 20:53:17 +0100
Subject: [PATCH v2] mm/mincore: make mincore() more conservative

The semantics of what mincore() considers to be resident is not completely
clear, but Linux has always (since 2.3.52, which is when mincore() was
initially done) treated it as "page is available in page cache".

That's potentially a problem, as that [in]directly exposes meta-information
about pagecache / memory mapping state even about memory not strictly belonging
to the process executing the syscall, opening possibilities for sidechannel
attacks.

Change the semantics of mincore() so that it only reveals pagecache information
for non-anonymous mappings that belog to files that the calling process could
(if it tried to) successfully open for writing.

[mhocko@suse.com: restructure can_do_mincore() conditions]
Originally-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Originally-by: Dominique Martinet <asmadeus@codewreck.org>
Cc: Dominique Martinet <asmadeus@codewreck.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Kevin Easton <kevin@guarana.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel@gruss.cc>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Josh Snyder <joshs@netflix.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
---
mm/mincore.c | 17 ++++++++++++++++-
1 file changed, 16 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/mincore.c b/mm/mincore.c
index 218099b5ed31..b8842b849604 100644
--- a/mm/mincore.c
+++ b/mm/mincore.c
@@ -169,6 +169,16 @@ static int mincore_pte_range(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
return 0;
}

+static inline bool can_do_mincore(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
+{
+ if (vma_is_anonymous(vma))
+ return true;
+ if (!vma->vm_file)
+ return false;
+ return inode_owner_or_capable(file_inode(vma->vm_file)) ||
+ inode_permission(file_inode(vma->vm_file), MAY_WRITE) == 0;
+}
+
/*
* Do a chunk of "sys_mincore()". We've already checked
* all the arguments, we hold the mmap semaphore: we should
@@ -189,8 +199,13 @@ static long do_mincore(unsigned long addr, unsigned long pages, unsigned char *v
vma = find_vma(current->mm, addr);
if (!vma || addr < vma->vm_start)
return -ENOMEM;
- mincore_walk.mm = vma->vm_mm;
end = min(vma->vm_end, addr + (pages << PAGE_SHIFT));
+ if (!can_do_mincore(vma)) {
+ unsigned long pages = (end - addr) >> PAGE_SHIFT;
+ memset(vec, 1, pages);
+ return pages;
+ }
+ mincore_walk.mm = vma->vm_mm;
err = walk_page_range(addr, end, &mincore_walk);
if (err < 0)
return err;
--
2.20.1

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-01 09:56    [W:0.268 / U:0.500 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site