lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.4 35/75] arm/arm64: smccc: Make function identifiers an unsigned quantity
Date
From: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>

commit ded4c39e93f3b72968fdb79baba27f3b83dad34c upstream.

Function identifiers are a 32bit, unsigned quantity. But we never
tell so to the compiler, resulting in the following:

4ac: b26187e0 mov x0, #0xffffffff80000001

We thus rely on the firmware narrowing it for us, which is not
always a reasonable expectation.

Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Reported-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Tested-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> [v4.9 backport]
Tested-by: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
include/linux/arm-smccc.h | 6 ++++--
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/include/linux/arm-smccc.h
+++ b/include/linux/arm-smccc.h
@@ -14,14 +14,16 @@
#ifndef __LINUX_ARM_SMCCC_H
#define __LINUX_ARM_SMCCC_H

+#include <uapi/linux/const.h>
+
/*
* This file provides common defines for ARM SMC Calling Convention as
* specified in
* http://infocenter.arm.com/help/topic/com.arm.doc.den0028a/index.html
*/

-#define ARM_SMCCC_STD_CALL 0
-#define ARM_SMCCC_FAST_CALL 1
+#define ARM_SMCCC_STD_CALL _AC(0,U)
+#define ARM_SMCCC_FAST_CALL _AC(1,U)
#define ARM_SMCCC_TYPE_SHIFT 31

#define ARM_SMCCC_SMC_32 0

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-08 20:19    [W:0.163 / U:4.476 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site