lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 2/7] mm/lruvec: add irqsave flags into lruvec struct
On Fri, Nov 15, 2019 at 7:15 PM Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com> wrote:
>
> We need a irqflags vaiable to save state when do irqsave action, declare
> it here would make code more clear/clean.
>
> Rong Chen <rong.a.chen@intel.com> reported the 'irqflags' variable need
> move to the tail of lruvec struct otherwise it causes 18% regressions of
> vm-scalability testing on his machine. So add the flags and lru_lock to
> both near struct tail, even I have no clue of this perf losing.

Regressions compared to what? Also no need to have a separate patch.

>
> Originally-from: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
> Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
> CC: Rong Chen <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
> Cc: cgroups@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> ---
> include/linux/mmzone.h | 2 ++
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/mmzone.h b/include/linux/mmzone.h
> index a13b8a602ee5..9b8b8daf4e03 100644
> --- a/include/linux/mmzone.h
> +++ b/include/linux/mmzone.h
> @@ -269,6 +269,8 @@ struct lruvec {
> unsigned long flags;
> /* per lruvec lru_lock for memcg */
> spinlock_t lru_lock;
> + /* flags for irqsave */
> + unsigned long irqflags;
> #ifdef CONFIG_MEMCG
> struct pglist_data *pgdat;
> #endif
> --
> 1.8.3.1
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-16 07:33    [W:0.156 / U:20.904 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site