lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip: sched/urgent] sched/fair: Scale bandwidth quota and period without losing quota/period ratio precision
The following commit has been merged into the sched/urgent branch of tip:

Commit-ID: 4929a4e6faa0f13289a67cae98139e727f0d4a97
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/4929a4e6faa0f13289a67cae98139e727f0d4a97
Author: Xuewei Zhang <xueweiz@google.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 03 Oct 2019 17:12:43 -07:00
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitterDate: Wed, 09 Oct 2019 12:38:02 +02:00

sched/fair: Scale bandwidth quota and period without losing quota/period ratio precision

The quota/period ratio is used to ensure a child task group won't get
more bandwidth than the parent task group, and is calculated as:

normalized_cfs_quota() = [(quota_us << 20) / period_us]

If the quota/period ratio was changed during this scaling due to
precision loss, it will cause inconsistency between parent and child
task groups.

See below example:

A userspace container manager (kubelet) does three operations:

1) Create a parent cgroup, set quota to 1,000us and period to 10,000us.
2) Create a few children cgroups.
3) Set quota to 1,000us and period to 10,000us on a child cgroup.

These operations are expected to succeed. However, if the scaling of
147/128 happens before step 3, quota and period of the parent cgroup
will be changed:

new_quota: 1148437ns, 1148us
new_period: 11484375ns, 11484us

And when step 3 comes in, the ratio of the child cgroup will be
104857, which will be larger than the parent cgroup ratio (104821),
and will fail.

Scaling them by a factor of 2 will fix the problem.

Tested-by: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Xuewei Zhang <xueweiz@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>
Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Fixes: 2e8e19226398 ("sched/fair: Limit sched_cfs_period_timer() loop to avoid hard lockup")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191004001243.140897-1-xueweiz@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 36 ++++++++++++++++++++++--------------
1 file changed, 22 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 83ab35e..682a754 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -4926,20 +4926,28 @@ static enum hrtimer_restart sched_cfs_period_timer(struct hrtimer *timer)
if (++count > 3) {
u64 new, old = ktime_to_ns(cfs_b->period);

- new = (old * 147) / 128; /* ~115% */
- new = min(new, max_cfs_quota_period);
-
- cfs_b->period = ns_to_ktime(new);
-
- /* since max is 1s, this is limited to 1e9^2, which fits in u64 */
- cfs_b->quota *= new;
- cfs_b->quota = div64_u64(cfs_b->quota, old);
-
- pr_warn_ratelimited(
- "cfs_period_timer[cpu%d]: period too short, scaling up (new cfs_period_us %lld, cfs_quota_us = %lld)\n",
- smp_processor_id(),
- div_u64(new, NSEC_PER_USEC),
- div_u64(cfs_b->quota, NSEC_PER_USEC));
+ /*
+ * Grow period by a factor of 2 to avoid losing precision.
+ * Precision loss in the quota/period ratio can cause __cfs_schedulable
+ * to fail.
+ */
+ new = old * 2;
+ if (new < max_cfs_quota_period) {
+ cfs_b->period = ns_to_ktime(new);
+ cfs_b->quota *= 2;
+
+ pr_warn_ratelimited(
+ "cfs_period_timer[cpu%d]: period too short, scaling up (new cfs_period_us = %lld, cfs_quota_us = %lld)\n",
+ smp_processor_id(),
+ div_u64(new, NSEC_PER_USEC),
+ div_u64(cfs_b->quota, NSEC_PER_USEC));
+ } else {
+ pr_warn_ratelimited(
+ "cfs_period_timer[cpu%d]: period too short, but cannot scale up without losing precision (cfs_period_us = %lld, cfs_quota_us = %lld)\n",
+ smp_processor_id(),
+ div_u64(old, NSEC_PER_USEC),
+ div_u64(cfs_b->quota, NSEC_PER_USEC));
+ }

/* reset count so we don't come right back in here */
count = 0;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-09 15:00    [W:0.068 / U:66.052 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site