lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.2 112/137] PCI: imx6: Propagate errors for optional regulators
Date
From: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>

[ Upstream commit 2170a09fb4b0f66e06e5bcdcbc98c9ccbf353650 ]

regulator_get_optional() can fail for a number of reasons besides probe
deferral. It can for example return -ENOMEM if it runs out of memory as
it tries to allocate data structures. Propagating only -EPROBE_DEFER is
problematic because it results in these legitimately fatal errors being
treated as "regulator not specified in DT".

What we really want is to ignore the optional regulators only if they
have not been specified in DT. regulator_get_optional() returns -ENODEV
in this case, so that's the special case that we need to handle. So we
propagate all errors, except -ENODEV, so that real failures will still
cause the driver to fail probe.

Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>
Cc: Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>
Cc: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
Cc: kernel@pengutronix.de
Cc: linux-imx@nxp.com
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
index 9b5cb5b703890..aabf22eaa6b91 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
@@ -1173,8 +1173,8 @@ static int imx6_pcie_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)

imx6_pcie->vpcie = devm_regulator_get_optional(&pdev->dev, "vpcie");
if (IS_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie)) {
- if (PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie) == -EPROBE_DEFER)
- return -EPROBE_DEFER;
+ if (PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie) != -ENODEV)
+ return PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie);
imx6_pcie->vpcie = NULL;
}

--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-06 19:54    [W:0.323 / U:2.132 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site