lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 01/10] leds: pca953x: Use of_device_get_match_data()
Date
This driver can use the of_device_get_match_data() API to simplify the
code. Replace calls to of_match_device() with this newer API under the
assumption that where it is called will be when we know the device is
backed by a DT node. This nicely avoids referencing the match table when
it is undefined with configurations where CONFIG_OF=n.

Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@iki.fi>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>
Cc: Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Dan Murphy <dmurphy@ti.com>
Cc: <linux-leds@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
---

Please ack or pick for immediate merge so the last patch can be merged.

drivers/leds/leds-pca9532.c | 14 ++------------
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 12 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/leds/leds-pca9532.c b/drivers/leds/leds-pca9532.c
index c7c7199e8ebd..7d515d5e57bd 100644
--- a/drivers/leds/leds-pca9532.c
+++ b/drivers/leds/leds-pca9532.c
@@ -467,16 +467,11 @@ pca9532_of_populate_pdata(struct device *dev, struct device_node *np)
{
struct pca9532_platform_data *pdata;
struct device_node *child;
- const struct of_device_id *match;
int devid, maxleds;
int i = 0;
const char *state;

- match = of_match_device(of_pca9532_leds_match, dev);
- if (!match)
- return ERR_PTR(-ENODEV);
-
- devid = (int)(uintptr_t)match->data;
+ devid = (int)(uintptr_t)of_device_get_match_data(dev);
maxleds = pca9532_chip_info_tbl[devid].num_leds;

pdata = devm_kzalloc(dev, sizeof(*pdata), GFP_KERNEL);
@@ -509,7 +504,6 @@ static int pca9532_probe(struct i2c_client *client,
const struct i2c_device_id *id)
{
int devid;
- const struct of_device_id *of_id;
struct pca9532_data *data = i2c_get_clientdata(client);
struct pca9532_platform_data *pca9532_pdata =
dev_get_platdata(&client->dev);
@@ -525,11 +519,7 @@ static int pca9532_probe(struct i2c_client *client,
dev_err(&client->dev, "no platform data\n");
return -EINVAL;
}
- of_id = of_match_device(of_pca9532_leds_match,
- &client->dev);
- if (unlikely(!of_id))
- return -EINVAL;
- devid = (int)(uintptr_t) of_id->data;
+ devid = (int)(uintptr_t)of_device_get_match_data(&client->dev);
} else {
devid = id->driver_data;
}
--
Sent by a computer through tubes
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-04 23:45    [W:0.215 / U:3.204 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site