lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 100/185] libperf: Fix alignment trap with xyarray contents in perf stat
Date
From: Gerald BAEZA <gerald.baeza@st.com>

[ Upstream commit d9c5c083416500e95da098c01be092b937def7fa ]

Following the patch 'perf stat: Fix --no-scale', an alignment trap
happens in process_counter_values() on ARMv7 platforms due to the
attempt to copy non 64 bits aligned double words (pointed by 'count')
via a NEON vectored instruction ('vld1' with 64 bits alignment
constraint).

This patch sets a 64 bits alignment constraint on 'contents[]' field in
'struct xyarray' since the 'count' pointer used above points to such a
structure.

Signed-off-by: Gerald Baeza <gerald.baeza@st.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1566464769-16374-1-git-send-email-gerald.baeza@st.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/xyarray.h | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/xyarray.h b/tools/perf/util/xyarray.h
index 7ffe562e7ae7f..2627b038b6f2a 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/xyarray.h
+++ b/tools/perf/util/xyarray.h
@@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
#ifndef _PERF_XYARRAY_H_
#define _PERF_XYARRAY_H_ 1

+#include <linux/compiler.h>
#include <sys/types.h>

struct xyarray {
@@ -10,7 +11,7 @@ struct xyarray {
size_t entries;
size_t max_x;
size_t max_y;
- char contents[];
+ char contents[] __aligned(8);
};

struct xyarray *xyarray__new(int xlen, int ylen, size_t entry_size);
--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-03 18:10    [W:0.428 / U:27.448 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site