lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 057/129] EDAC/altera: Use the proper type for the IRQ status bits
Date
From: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>

[ Upstream commit 8faa1cf6ed82f33009f63986c3776cc48af1b7b2 ]

Smatch complains about the cast of a u32 pointer to unsigned long:

drivers/edac/altera_edac.c:1878 altr_edac_a10_irq_handler()
warn: passing casted pointer '&irq_status' to 'find_first_bit()'

This code wouldn't work on a 64 bit big endian system because it would
read past the end of &irq_status.

[ bp: massage. ]

Fixes: 13ab8448d2c9 ("EDAC, altera: Add ECC Manager IRQ controller support")
Signed-off-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Thor Thayer <thor.thayer@linux.intel.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-edac <linux-edac@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190624134717.GA1754@mwanda
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
drivers/edac/altera_edac.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/edac/altera_edac.c b/drivers/edac/altera_edac.c
index b0bd0f64d8f21..6037efa94c9ba 100644
--- a/drivers/edac/altera_edac.c
+++ b/drivers/edac/altera_edac.c
@@ -1651,6 +1651,7 @@ static void altr_edac_a10_irq_handler(struct irq_desc *desc)
struct altr_arria10_edac *edac = irq_desc_get_handler_data(desc);
struct irq_chip *chip = irq_desc_get_chip(desc);
int irq = irq_desc_get_irq(desc);
+ unsigned long bits;

dberr = (irq == edac->db_irq) ? 1 : 0;
sm_offset = dberr ? A10_SYSMGR_ECC_INTSTAT_DERR_OFST :
@@ -1660,7 +1661,8 @@ static void altr_edac_a10_irq_handler(struct irq_desc *desc)

regmap_read(edac->ecc_mgr_map, sm_offset, &irq_status);

- for_each_set_bit(bit, (unsigned long *)&irq_status, 32) {
+ bits = irq_status;
+ for_each_set_bit(bit, &bits, 32) {
irq = irq_linear_revmap(edac->domain, dberr * 32 + bit);
if (irq)
generic_handle_irq(irq);
--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-03 18:03    [W:0.422 / U:10.528 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site