lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.16 25/87] perf/ring_buffer: Add ordering to rb->nest increment
3.16.75-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

commit 3f9fbe9bd86c534eba2faf5d840fd44c6049f50e upstream.

Similar to how decrementing rb->next too early can cause data_head to
(temporarily) be observed to go backward, so too can this happen when
we increment too late.

This barrier() ensures the rb->head load happens after the increment,
both the one in the 'goto again' path, as the one from
perf_output_get_handle() -- albeit very unlikely to matter for the
latter.

Suggested-by: Yabin Cui <yabinc@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Cc: mark.rutland@arm.com
Cc: namhyung@kernel.org
Fixes: ef60777c9abd ("perf: Optimize the perf_output() path by removing IRQ-disables")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190517115418.309516009@infradead.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
kernel/events/ring_buffer.c | 9 +++++++++
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

--- a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
+++ b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
@@ -47,6 +47,15 @@ static void perf_output_put_handle(struc
unsigned long head;

again:
+ /*
+ * In order to avoid publishing a head value that goes backwards,
+ * we must ensure the load of @rb->head happens after we've
+ * incremented @rb->nest.
+ *
+ * Otherwise we can observe a @rb->head value before one published
+ * by an IRQ/NMI happening between the load and the increment.
+ */
+ barrier();
head = local_read(&rb->head);

/*
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-02 21:09    [W:0.236 / U:0.476 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site