lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH v9 0/5] DMA-BUF Heaps (destaging ION)
Date
Here is yet another pass at the dma-buf heaps patchset Andrew
and I have been working on which tries to destage a fair chunk
of ION functionality.

The patchset implements per-heap devices which can be opened
directly and then an ioctl is used to allocate a dmabuf from the
heap.

The interface is similar, but much simpler then IONs, only
providing an ALLOC ioctl.

Also, I've provided relatively simple system and cma heaps.

I've booted and tested these patches with AOSP on the HiKey960
using the kernel tree here:
https://git.linaro.org/people/john.stultz/android-dev.git/log/?h=dev/dma-buf-heap

And the userspace changes here:
https://android-review.googlesource.com/c/device/linaro/hikey/+/909436

Compared to ION, this patchset is missing the system-contig,
carveout and chunk heaps, as I don't have a device that uses
those, so I'm unable to do much useful validation there.
Additionally we have no upstream users of chunk or carveout,
and the system-contig has been deprecated in the common/andoid-*
kernels, so this should be ok.

I've also removed the stats accounting, since any such accounting
should be implemented by dma-buf core or the heaps themselves.

New in v9:
* Removing needless check in cma heap (noted by Brian Starkey)
* Rename dma_heap_get_data->dma_heap_get_drvdata (suggested by
Hilf Danton)
* Check signals after clearing memory pages to avoid doing
needless work if the task is killed (suggested by Hilf)
* Better test error reporting (suggested d by Brian)
* Other minor cleanups (suggested by Brian)

Thoughts and feedback would be greatly appreciated!

thanks
-john

Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Gaignard <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>
Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Mark <lmark@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Pratik Patel <pratikp@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Brian Starkey <Brian.Starkey@arm.com>
Cc: Vincent Donnefort <Vincent.Donnefort@arm.com>
Cc: Sudipto Paul <Sudipto.Paul@arm.com>
Cc: Andrew F. Davis <afd@ti.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Chenbo Feng <fengc@google.com>
Cc: Alistair Strachan <astrachan@google.com>
Cc: Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org

Andrew F. Davis (1):
dma-buf: Add dma-buf heaps framework

John Stultz (4):
dma-buf: heaps: Add heap helpers
dma-buf: heaps: Add system heap to dmabuf heaps
dma-buf: heaps: Add CMA heap to dmabuf heaps
kselftests: Add dma-heap test

MAINTAINERS | 18 ++
drivers/dma-buf/Kconfig | 11 +
drivers/dma-buf/Makefile | 2 +
drivers/dma-buf/dma-heap.c | 250 ++++++++++++++++
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig | 14 +
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Makefile | 4 +
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/cma_heap.c | 169 +++++++++++
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.c | 266 ++++++++++++++++++
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.h | 55 ++++
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c | 122 ++++++++
include/linux/dma-heap.h | 59 ++++
include/uapi/linux/dma-heap.h | 55 ++++
tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/Makefile | 9 +
.../selftests/dmabuf-heaps/dmabuf-heap.c | 238 ++++++++++++++++
14 files changed, 1272 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/dma-heap.c
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Makefile
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/cma_heap.c
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.c
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.h
create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
create mode 100644 include/linux/dma-heap.h
create mode 100644 include/uapi/linux/dma-heap.h
create mode 100644 tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/Makefile
create mode 100644 tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/dmabuf-heap.c

--
2.17.1

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-02 20:24    [W:0.073 / U:58.980 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site