lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v3 1/7] mm: Remove BUG_ON mmap_sem not held from xxx_trans_huge_lock()
Date
From: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>

The caller needs to make sure that the vma is not torn down during the
lock operation and can also use the i_mmap_rwsem for file-backed vmas.
Remove the BUG_ON. We could, as an alternative, add a test that either
vma->vm_mm->mmap_sem or vma->vm_file->f_mapping->i_mmap_rwsem are held.

Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
---
include/linux/huge_mm.h | 2 --
1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/huge_mm.h b/include/linux/huge_mm.h
index 93d5cf0bc716..0b84e13e88e2 100644
--- a/include/linux/huge_mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/huge_mm.h
@@ -216,7 +216,6 @@ static inline int is_swap_pmd(pmd_t pmd)
static inline spinlock_t *pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd,
struct vm_area_struct *vma)
{
- VM_BUG_ON_VMA(!rwsem_is_locked(&vma->vm_mm->mmap_sem), vma);
if (is_swap_pmd(*pmd) || pmd_trans_huge(*pmd) || pmd_devmap(*pmd))
return __pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd, vma);
else
@@ -225,7 +224,6 @@ static inline spinlock_t *pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd,
static inline spinlock_t *pud_trans_huge_lock(pud_t *pud,
struct vm_area_struct *vma)
{
- VM_BUG_ON_VMA(!rwsem_is_locked(&vma->vm_mm->mmap_sem), vma);
if (pud_trans_huge(*pud) || pud_devmap(*pud))
return __pud_trans_huge_lock(pud, vma);
else
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-02 15:48    [W:0.106 / U:0.136 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site