lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/7] ASoC: amd: Registering device endpoints using MFD framework
On Tue, 01 Oct 2019, Deucher, Alexander wrote:

> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> > Sent: Tuesday, October 1, 2019 8:00 AM
> > To: RAVULAPATI, VISHNU VARDHAN RAO
> > <Vishnuvardhanrao.Ravulapati@amd.com>
> > Cc: RAVULAPATI, VISHNU VARDHAN RAO
> > <Vishnuvardhanrao.Ravulapati@amd.com>; Deucher, Alexander
> > <Alexander.Deucher@amd.com>; Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>;
> > Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>; Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>;
> > Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>; Mukunda, Vijendar
> > <Vijendar.Mukunda@amd.com>; Maruthi Srinivas Bayyavarapu
> > <Maruthi.Bayyavarapu@amd.com>; Mehta, Sanju
> > <Sanju.Mehta@amd.com>; Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>; Dan
> > Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>; moderated list:SOUND - SOC LAYER
> > / DYNAMIC AUDIO POWER MANAGEM... <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>;
> > open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
> > Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/7] ASoC: amd: Registering device endpoints using MFD
> > framework
> >
> > On Tue, 01 Oct 2019, vishnu wrote:
> >
> > > Hi Jones,
> > >
> > > I am very Thankful to your review comments.
> > >
> > > Actually The driver is not totally based on MFD. It just uses
> > > mfd_add_hotplug_devices() and mfd_remove_devices() for adding the
> > > devices automatically.
> > >
> > > Remaining code has nothing to do with MFD framework.
> > >
> > > So I thought It would not break the coding style and moved ahead by
> > > using the MFD API by adding its header file.
> > >
> > > If it is any violation of coding standard then I can move it to
> > > drivers/mfd.
> > >
> > > This patch could be a show stopper for us.Please suggest us how can we
> > > move ahead ASAP.
> >
> > Either move the MFD parts to drivers/mfd, or stop using the MFD API.
>
> There are more drivers outside of drivers/mfd using this API than
> drivers in drivers/mfd.

People do wrong things all the time. It doesn't make them right.

> In a lot of cases it doesn't make sense to move the driver to drivers/mfd.

In those cases, the platform_device_*() API should be used.

--
Lee Jones [李琼斯]
Linaro Services Technical Lead
Linaro.org │ Open source software for ARM SoCs
Follow Linaro: Facebook | Twitter | Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-02 14:38    [W:0.055 / U:39.116 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site