lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 058/100] perf annotate: Propagate perf_env__arch() error
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

[ Upstream commit a66fa0619a0ae3585ef09e9c33ecfb5c7c6cb72b ]

The callers of symbol__annotate2() use symbol__strerror_disassemble() to
convert its failure returns into a human readable string, so
propagate error values from functions it calls, starting with
perf_env__arch() that when fails the right thing to do is to look at
'errno' to see why its possible call to uname() failed.

Reported-by: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-it5d83kyusfhb1q1b0l4pxzs@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/annotate.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
index daea1fdf73856..4ef62bcdc80f0 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
@@ -1871,7 +1871,7 @@ int symbol__annotate(struct symbol *sym, struct map *map,
int err;

if (!arch_name)
- return -1;
+ return errno;

args.arch = arch = arch__find(arch_name);
if (arch == NULL)
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-19 00:21    [W:0.357 / U:1.456 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site