lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 052/100] libsubcmd: Make _FORTIFY_SOURCE defines dependent on the feature
Date
From: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>

[ Upstream commit 4b0b2b096da9d296e0e5668cdfba8613bd6f5bc8 ]

Unconditionally defining _FORTIFY_SOURCE can break tools that don't work
with it, such as memory sanitizers:

https://github.com/google/sanitizers/wiki/AddressSanitizer#faq

Fixes: 4b6ab94eabe4 ("perf subcmd: Create subcmd library")
Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190925195924.152834-1-irogers@google.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/lib/subcmd/Makefile | 8 +++++++-
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/lib/subcmd/Makefile b/tools/lib/subcmd/Makefile
index ed61fb3a46c08..5b2cd5e58df09 100644
--- a/tools/lib/subcmd/Makefile
+++ b/tools/lib/subcmd/Makefile
@@ -20,7 +20,13 @@ MAKEFLAGS += --no-print-directory
LIBFILE = $(OUTPUT)libsubcmd.a

CFLAGS := $(EXTRA_WARNINGS) $(EXTRA_CFLAGS)
-CFLAGS += -ggdb3 -Wall -Wextra -std=gnu99 -U_FORTIFY_SOURCE -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fPIC
+CFLAGS += -ggdb3 -Wall -Wextra -std=gnu99 -fPIC
+
+ifeq ($(DEBUG),0)
+ ifeq ($(feature-fortify-source), 1)
+ CFLAGS += -U_FORTIFY_SOURCE -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2
+ endif
+endif

ifeq ($(CC_NO_CLANG), 0)
CFLAGS += -O3
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-19 00:07    [W:0.286 / U:0.616 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site