[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
Messages in this thread
SubjectLinux 5.0-rc1
So this was a fairly unusual merge window with the holidays, and as a
result I'm not even going to complain about the pull requests that
ended up coming in late. It all mostly worked out fine, I think. And
lot of people got their pull requests in early, and hopefully had a
calm holiday season. Thanks again to everybody.

The numbering change is not indicative of anything special. If you
want to have an official reason, it's that I ran out of fingers and
toes to count on, so 4.21 became 5.0. There's no nice git object
numerology this time (we're _about_ 6.5M objects in the git repo), and
there isn't any major particular feature that made for the release
numbering either. Of course, depending on your particular interests,
some people might well find a feature _they_ like so much that they
think it can do as a reason for incrementing the major number.

So go wild. Make up your own reason for why it's 5.0.

Because as usual, there's a lot of changes in there. Not because this
merge window was particularly big - but even our smaller merge windows
aren't exactly small. It's a very solid and average merge window with
just under 11k commits (or about 11.5k if you count merges).

The stats look fairly normal. About 50% is drivers, 20% is
architecture updates, 10% is tooling, and the remaining 20% is all
over (documentation, networking, filesystems, header file updates,
core kernel code..). Nothing particular stands out, although I do like
seeing how some ancient drivers are getting put out to pasture

As usual even the shortlog is much too big to post, so the summary
below is only a list of the pull requests I merged.

Go test. Kick the tires. Be the first kid on your block running a 5.0
pre-release kernel.



Al Viro (2):
trivial vfs updates
vfs mount API prep

Alex Williamson (1):
VFIO updates

Alexandre Belloni (1):
RTC updates

Andrew Morton (2):
misc updates
more updates

Andy Shevchenko (1):
x86 platform driver updates

Anna Schumaker (1):
NFS client updates

Arnd Bergmann (2):
arch/sh syscall table scripting
y2038 updates

Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz (1):
fbdev updates

Benson Leung (1):
chrome platform updates

Bjorn Andersson (1):
hwspinlock updates

Bjorn Helgaas (1):
PCI updates

Bob Peterson (1):
gfs2 updates

Boris Brezillon (2):
initial i3c support
mtd updates

Borislav Petkov (4):
EDAC updates
x86 cache control updates
x86 microcode loading updates
x86 RAS updates

Bruce Fields (1):
nfsd updates

Christoph Hellwig (2):
DMA mapping updates
dma-mapping fixes

Dan Williams (2):
libnvdimm updates
dax fix

Daniel Thompson (1):
kgdb updates

Darrick Wong (4):
XFS updates
iomap update
xfs fixlets
iomap maintainer update

Dave Airlie (3):
drm updates
more drm updates
drm fixes

David Miller (3):
sparc updates
networking updates
networking fixes

David Sterba (1):
btrfs updates

David Teigland (1):
dlm updates

Dennis Zhou (1):
percpu update

Dmitry Torokhov (1):
input updates

Dominique Martinet (1):
9p updates

Eduardo Valentin (1):
thermal SoC updates

Geert Uytterhoeven (1):
m68k updates

Greentime Hu (1):
nds32 updates

Greg KH (5):
USB/PHY updates
tty/serial driver updates
staging/IIO driver updates
driver core updates
char/misc driver updates

Guenter Roeck (1):
hwmon updates

Guo Ren (1):
arch/csky updates

Helge Deller (2):
parisc updates
parisc fix

Herbert Xu (1):
crypto updates

Ilya Dryomov (1):
ceph updates

Ingo Molnar (15):
RCU updates
EFI updates
locking updates
perf updates
scheduler updates
x86 AMD northbridge updates
x86 asm updates
x86 boot updates
x86 build updates
x86 cleanups
x86 cpu updates
x86 fpu updates
x86 mm updates
x86 platform update
scheduler fix

Jacek Anaszewski (1):
LED updates

Jaegeuk Kim (1):
f2fs updates

James Bottomley (1):
SCSI updates

James Morris (5):
general security subsystem updates
integrity updates
seccomp updates
smack updates
TPM updates

Jan Kara (2):
fsnotify updates
ext2, udf, and quota update

Jason Gunthorpe (2):
rdma updates
rdma fixes

Jassi Brar (1):
mailbox updates

Jeff Layton (2):
file locking updates
file locking bugfix

Jens Axboe (6):
block updates
aio updates
libata updates
libata fix
more block updates
block updates and fixes

Jessica Yu (1):
modules updates

Jiri Kosina (2):
livepatch update
HID updates

Joerg Roedel (1):
IOMMU updates

Jonathan Corbet (2):
documentation update
documentation fixes

Juergen Gross (1):
xen updates

Kees Cook (2):
pstore updates
gcc-plugins update

Linus Walleij (2):
GPIO updates
pin control updates

Mark Brown (3):
regulator updates
spi updates
regmap updates

Martin Schwidefsky (1):
s390 updates

Masahiro Yamada (4):
Kbuild updates
Kconfig updates
Kconfig file consolidation
more Kbuild updates

Matt Turner (1):
alpha architecture updates

Mauro Carvalho Chehab (2):
media updates
more media updates

Max Filippov (1):
Xtensa updates

Michael Ellerman (2):
powerpc updates
powerpc fixes

Michael Tsirkin (1):
virtio/vhost updates

Michal Simek (1):
arch/microblaze updates

Mike Snitzer (1):
device mapper updates

Olof Johansson (5):
arm SoC platform updates
ARM SoC driver updates
ARM Device-tree updates
ARM SoC defconfig updates
more ARM SoC updates

Palmer Dabbelt (1):
RISC-V updates

Paolo Bonzini (1):
KVM updates

Paul Burton (2):
MIPS updates
MIPS fixes

Paul Moore (2):
audit updates
selinux patches

Petr Mladek (1):
printk updates

Rafael Wysocki (4):
power management updates
ACPI updates
device properties framework updates
device properties framework fixes

Richard Weinberger (1):
UML updates

Rob Herring (1):
Devicetree updates

Russell King (1):
ARM updates

Sebastian Reichel (2):
power supply and reset updates
HSI update

Shuah Khan (1):
Kselftest updates

Stafford Horne (1):
OpenRISC update

Stefan Richter (1):
firewire fixlet

Stephen Boyd (2):
clk updates
more clk updates

Steve French (2):
cifs updates
smb3 fixes

Steven Rostedt (2):
tracing updates
ftrace sh build fix

Takashi Iwai (2):
sound updates
sound fixes

Ted Ts'o (3):
ext4 updates
ext4 bug fixes
fscrypt updates

Tejun Heo (1):
cgroup updates

Thierry Reding (1):
pwm updates

Thomas Gleixner (3):
irq updates
timer updates
x86 pti updates

Tony Luck (1):
ia64 updates

Ulf Hansson (1):
MMC updates

Vinod Koul (1):
dmaengine updates

Will Deacon (2):
arm64 festive updates
arm64 fixes

Wim Van Sebroeck (1):
watchdog updates

Wolfram Sang (1):
i2c updates

Yoshinori Sato (1):
h8300 fix

Zhang Rui (1):
thermal management updates

 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-07 03:15    [W:0.071 / U:0.200 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site