lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 19/99] arm64: Dont trap host pointer auth use to EL2
Date
4.19-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

[ Upstream commit b3669b1e1c09890d61109a1a8ece2c5b66804714 ]

To allow EL0 (and/or EL1) to use pointer authentication functionality,
we must ensure that pointer authentication instructions and accesses to
pointer authentication keys are not trapped to EL2.

This patch ensures that HCR_EL2 is configured appropriately when the
kernel is booted at EL2. For non-VHE kernels we set HCR_EL2.{API,APK},
ensuring that EL1 can access keys and permit EL0 use of instructions.
For VHE kernels host EL0 (TGE && E2H) is unaffected by these settings,
and it doesn't matter how we configure HCR_EL2.{API,APK}, so we don't
bother setting them.

This does not enable support for KVM guests, since KVM manages HCR_EL2
itself when running VMs.

Reviewed-by: Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>
Acked-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
index 2297284e33f2..8b284cbf8162 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
@@ -24,6 +24,8 @@

/* Hyp Configuration Register (HCR) bits */
#define HCR_FWB (UL(1) << 46)
+#define HCR_API (UL(1) << 41)
+#define HCR_APK (UL(1) << 40)
#define HCR_TEA (UL(1) << 37)
#define HCR_TERR (UL(1) << 36)
#define HCR_TLOR (UL(1) << 35)
@@ -87,7 +89,7 @@
HCR_AMO | HCR_SWIO | HCR_TIDCP | HCR_RW | HCR_TLOR | \
HCR_FMO | HCR_IMO)
#define HCR_VIRT_EXCP_MASK (HCR_VSE | HCR_VI | HCR_VF)
-#define HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS (HCR_RW)
+#define HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS (HCR_RW | HCR_API | HCR_APK)
#define HCR_HOST_VHE_FLAGS (HCR_RW | HCR_TGE | HCR_E2H)

/* TCR_EL2 Registers bits */
--
2.19.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-21 15:08    [W:0.292 / U:4.620 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site