lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] MAINTAINERS, sched: Drop PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL section entry
Commit-ID:  7f6fc999ecba2206d3ae2bf0baf91a0a5c59c12e
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/7f6fc999ecba2206d3ae2bf0baf91a0a5c59c12e
Author: Lukas Bulwahn <lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com>
AuthorDate: Sat, 12 Jan 2019 07:06:13 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Mon, 21 Jan 2019 11:26:47 +0100

MAINTAINERS, sched: Drop PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL section entry

The PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL section entry seems quite outdated:

Robert Love is not actively maintaining the file anymore, nor a recorded
contributor to the files in the PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL section for the last
few years.

The mailing list kpreempt-tech@lists.sourceforge.net does not exist
anymore; the website just points to some very old patches for v2.4/v2.5.

So, let's delete the PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL section entry and clean this up:

- Documentation/preempt-locking.txt is not modified much anyway, and the
changes in that file are generally maintained by Jonathan Corbet. So,
we do not need to explicitly mention Documentation/preempt-locking.txt
in MAINTAINERS.

- include/linux/preempt.h is maintained by Peter and Ingo, so we simply
add that file to the SCHEDULER section entry.

I got directed to this issue, as I could not subscribe to the outdated
mailing list address and decided to investigate and then cleaned this up.

Signed-off-by: Lukas Bulwahn <lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Robert Love <rlove@rlove.org>
Cc: Robert Love <rml@tech9.net>
Cc: Robert Love <robert.w.love@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190112060613.7115-1-lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
MAINTAINERS | 9 +--------
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/MAINTAINERS b/MAINTAINERS
index 4d04cebb4a71..dee0a8ecfb01 100644
--- a/MAINTAINERS
+++ b/MAINTAINERS
@@ -12227,14 +12227,6 @@ S: Maintained
F: drivers/net/ppp/pptp.c
W: http://sourceforge.net/projects/accel-pptp

-PREEMPTIBLE KERNEL
-M: Robert Love <rml@tech9.net>
-L: kpreempt-tech@lists.sourceforge.net
-W: https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/rml/preempt-kernel
-S: Supported
-F: Documentation/preempt-locking.txt
-F: include/linux/preempt.h
-
PRINTK
M: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
M: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
@@ -13457,6 +13449,7 @@ F: kernel/sched/
F: include/linux/sched.h
F: include/uapi/linux/sched.h
F: include/linux/wait.h
+F: include/linux/preempt.h

SCR24X CHIP CARD INTERFACE DRIVER
M: Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@v3.sk>
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-21 12:35    [W:0.068 / U:1.980 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site