lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH glibc 2/4] glibc: sched_getcpu(): use rseq cpu_id TLS on Linux
Date
When available, use the cpu_id field from __rseq_abi on Linux to
implement sched_getcpu(). Fall-back on the vgetcpu vDSO if unavailable.

Benchmarks:

x86-64: Intel E5-2630 v3@2.40GHz, 16-core, hyperthreading

glibc sched_getcpu(): 13.7 ns (baseline)
glibc sched_getcpu() using rseq: 2.5 ns (speedup: 5.5x)
inline load cpuid from __rseq_abi TLS: 0.8 ns (speedup: 17.1x)

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
CC: Carlos O'Donell <carlos@redhat.com>
CC: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
CC: Joseph Myers <joseph@codesourcery.com>
CC: Szabolcs Nagy <szabolcs.nagy@arm.com>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
CC: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
CC: libc-alpha@sourceware.org
CC: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
CC: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
---
sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/sched_getcpu.c | 25 +++++++++++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 23 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/sched_getcpu.c b/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/sched_getcpu.c
index b69eeda15c..37fda59d36 100644
--- a/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/sched_getcpu.c
+++ b/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/sched_getcpu.c
@@ -24,8 +24,8 @@
#endif
#include <sysdep-vdso.h>

-int
-sched_getcpu (void)
+static int
+vsyscall_sched_getcpu (void)
{
#ifdef __NR_getcpu
unsigned int cpu;
@@ -37,3 +37,24 @@ sched_getcpu (void)
return -1;
#endif
}
+
+#ifdef __NR_rseq
+#include <linux/rseq.h>
+
+extern __attribute__ ((tls_model ("initial-exec")))
+__thread volatile struct rseq __rseq_abi;
+
+int
+sched_getcpu (void)
+{
+ int cpu_id = __rseq_abi.cpu_id;
+
+ return cpu_id >= 0 ? cpu_id : vsyscall_sched_getcpu ();
+}
+#else
+int
+sched_getcpu (void)
+{
+ return vsyscall_sched_getcpu ();
+}
+#endif
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-21 22:36    [W:0.089 / U:4.624 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site