lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 3/3] bitops.h: set_mask_bits() to return old value
From
Date


On 1/10/19 4:26 PM, Vineet Gupta wrote:
> | > Also, set_mask_bits is used in fs quite a bit and we can possibly come up
> | > with a generic llsc based implementation (w/o the cmpxchg loop)
> |
> | May I also suggest changing the return value of set_mask_bits() to old.
> |
> | You can compute the new value given old, but you cannot compute the old
> | value given new, therefore old is the better return value. Also, no
> | current user seems to use the return value, so changing it is without
> | risk.
>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/g/20150807110955.GH16853@twins.programming.kicks-ass.net
> Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
>

Reviewed-by: Anthony Yznaga <anthony.yznaga@oracle.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-11 05:25    [W:0.071 / U:2.148 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site