lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] tools/perf: fix use of alternatives to find JDIR
Date
When a build is run from something like a cron job, the user's $PATH is
rather minimal, of note, not including /usr/sbin in my own case. Because
of that, an automated rpm package build ultimately fails to find
libperf-jvmti.so, because somewhere within the build, this happens...

/bin/sh: alternatives: command not found
/bin/sh: alternatives: command not found
Makefile.config:849: No openjdk development package found, please install
JDK package, e.g. openjdk-8-jdk, java-1.8.0-openjdk-devel

...and while the build continues, libperf-jvmti.so isn't built, and things
fall down when rpm tries to find all the %files specified. Exact same
system builds everything just fine when the job is launched from a login
shell instead of a cron job, since alternatives is in $PATH, so openjdk is
actually found.

The test required to get into this section of code actually specifies the
full path, as does a block just above it, so let's do that here too.

CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
CC: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
CC: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
CC: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/Makefile.config | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Makefile.config b/tools/perf/Makefile.config
index f6d1a03c7523..e30d20fb482d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Makefile.config
+++ b/tools/perf/Makefile.config
@@ -833,7 +833,7 @@ ifndef NO_JVMTI
JDIR=$(shell /usr/sbin/update-java-alternatives -l | head -1 | awk '{print $$3}')
else
ifneq (,$(wildcard /usr/sbin/alternatives))
- JDIR=$(shell alternatives --display java | tail -1 | cut -d' ' -f 5 | sed 's%/jre/bin/java.%%g')
+ JDIR=$(shell /usr/sbin/alternatives --display java | tail -1 | cut -d' ' -f 5 | sed 's%/jre/bin/java.%%g')
endif
endif
ifndef JDIR
--
2.16.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-07 00:19    [W:0.068 / U:1.928 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site