lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH RFC LKMM 2/7] doc: Replace smp_cond_acquire() with smp_cond_load_acquire()
On Wed, Aug 29, 2018 at 02:10:48PM -0700, Paul E. McKenney wrote:
> From: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
>
> Amend commit 1f03e8d2919270 ("locking/barriers: Replace smp_cond_acquire()
> with smp_cond_load_acquire()") by updating the documentation accordingly.
> Also remove some obsolete information related to the implementation.
>
> Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
> Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
> Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>
> Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>
> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>
> Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> ---
> Documentation/memory-barriers.txt | 3 +--
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
> index 0d8d7ef131e9..c1d913944ad8 100644
> --- a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
> +++ b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
> @@ -471,8 +471,7 @@ And a couple of implicit varieties:
> operations after the ACQUIRE operation will appear to happen after the
> ACQUIRE operation with respect to the other components of the system.
> ACQUIRE operations include LOCK operations and both smp_load_acquire()
> - and smp_cond_acquire() operations. The later builds the necessary ACQUIRE
> - semantics from relying on a control dependency and smp_rmb().
> + and smp_cond_load_acquire() operations.

Thanks for fixing the doc:

Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Will

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-14 18:58    [W:0.172 / U:3.196 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site