lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Aug]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 11/44] perf tools: Drop unneeded bitmap_zero() calls
Date
From: Yury Norov <ynorov@caviumnetworks.com>

bitmap_zero() is called after bitmap_alloc() in perf code. But
bitmap_alloc() internally uses calloc() which guarantees that allocated
area is zeroed. So following bitmap_zero is unneeded. Drop it.

This happened because of confusing name for bitmap allocator. It
should has name bitmap_zalloc instead of bitmap_alloc.

This series:

https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/6/18/841

introduces a new API for bitmap allocations in kernel, and functions
there are named correctly. Following patch propogates the API to tools,
and fixes naming issue.

Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <ynorov@caviumnetworks.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andriy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180623073502.16321-1-ynorov@caviumnetworks.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/tests/bitmap.c | 2 --
tools/perf/tests/mem2node.c | 2 --
tools/perf/util/header.c | 3 ---
3 files changed, 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/bitmap.c b/tools/perf/tests/bitmap.c
index 47bedf25ba69..96e7fc1ad3f9 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/bitmap.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/bitmap.c
@@ -16,8 +16,6 @@ static unsigned long *get_bitmap(const char *str, int nbits)
bm = bitmap_alloc(nbits);

if (map && bm) {
- bitmap_zero(bm, nbits);
-
for (i = 0; i < map->nr; i++)
set_bit(map->map[i], bm);
}
diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/mem2node.c b/tools/perf/tests/mem2node.c
index 0c3c87f86e03..9e9e4d37cc77 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/mem2node.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/mem2node.c
@@ -24,8 +24,6 @@ static unsigned long *get_bitmap(const char *str, int nbits)
bm = bitmap_alloc(nbits);

if (map && bm) {
- bitmap_zero(bm, nbits);
-
for (i = 0; i < map->nr; i++) {
set_bit(map->map[i], bm);
}
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/header.c b/tools/perf/util/header.c
index 5af58aac91ad..5f1af7b07b96 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/header.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/header.c
@@ -279,8 +279,6 @@ static int do_read_bitmap(struct feat_fd *ff, unsigned long **pset, u64 *psize)
if (!set)
return -ENOMEM;

- bitmap_zero(set, size);
-
p = (u64 *) set;

for (i = 0; (u64) i < BITS_TO_U64(size); i++) {
@@ -1285,7 +1283,6 @@ static int memory_node__read(struct memory_node *n, unsigned long idx)
return -ENOMEM;
}

- bitmap_zero(n->set, size);
n->node = idx;
n->size = size;

--
2.14.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-08-09 17:04    [W:0.105 / U:1.580 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site