lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Aug]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/pti] x86/mm/pti: Move user W+X check into pti_finalize()
Commit-ID:  d878efce73fe86db34ddb2013260adf571a701a7
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/d878efce73fe86db34ddb2013260adf571a701a7
Author: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
AuthorDate: Wed, 8 Aug 2018 13:16:40 +0200
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Fri, 10 Aug 2018 21:12:45 +0200

x86/mm/pti: Move user W+X check into pti_finalize()

The user page-table gets the updated kernel mappings in pti_finalize(),
which runs after the RO+X permissions got applied to the kernel page-table
in mark_readonly().

But with CONFIG_DEBUG_WX enabled, the user page-table is already checked in
mark_readonly() for insecure mappings. This causes false-positive
warnings, because the user page-table did not get the updated mappings yet.

Move the W+X check for the user page-table into pti_finalize() after it
updated all required mappings.

[ tglx: Folded !NX supported fix ]

Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Waiman Long <llong@redhat.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: "David H . Gutteridge" <dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca>
Cc: joro@8bytes.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1533727000-9172-1-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org
---
arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h | 7 +++++--
arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c | 6 +++---
arch/x86/mm/pti.c | 2 ++
3 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
index e39088cb59ab..a1cb3339da8d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -30,11 +30,14 @@ int __init __early_make_pgtable(unsigned long address, pmdval_t pmd);
void ptdump_walk_pgd_level(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd);
void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd, bool user);
void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx(void);
+void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(void);

#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_WX
-#define debug_checkwx() ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx()
+#define debug_checkwx() ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx()
+#define debug_checkwx_user() ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx()
#else
-#define debug_checkwx() do { } while (0)
+#define debug_checkwx() do { } while (0)
+#define debug_checkwx_user() do { } while (0)
#endif

/*
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c b/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
index ccd92c4da57c..a12afff146d1 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
@@ -569,12 +569,13 @@ void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd, bool user)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs);

-static void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(void)
+void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(void)
{
#ifdef CONFIG_PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION
pgd_t *pgd = INIT_PGD;

- if (!static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
+ if (!(__supported_pte_mask & _PAGE_NX) ||
+ !static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
return;

pr_info("x86/mm: Checking user space page tables\n");
@@ -586,7 +587,6 @@ static void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(void)
void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx(void)
{
ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(NULL, NULL, true, false);
- ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx();
}

static int __init pt_dump_init(void)
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
index 1dc5c683e7a5..d58b4aba9510 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -646,4 +646,6 @@ void pti_finalize(void)
*/
pti_clone_entry_text();
pti_clone_kernel_text();
+
+ debug_checkwx_user();
}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-08-10 21:18    [W:0.079 / U:13.200 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site