lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] doc: Replace smp_cond_acquire() with smp_cond_load_acquire()
Date
Amend commit 1f03e8d2919270 ("locking/barriers: Replace smp_cond_acquire()
with smp_cond_load_acquire()") by updating the documentation accordingly.
Also remove some obsolete information related to the implementation.

Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>
Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>
Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
---
Documentation/memory-barriers.txt | 3 +--
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
index 0d8d7ef131e9a..c1d913944ad8b 100644
--- a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
+++ b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
@@ -471,8 +471,7 @@ And a couple of implicit varieties:
operations after the ACQUIRE operation will appear to happen after the
ACQUIRE operation with respect to the other components of the system.
ACQUIRE operations include LOCK operations and both smp_load_acquire()
- and smp_cond_acquire() operations. The later builds the necessary ACQUIRE
- semantics from relying on a control dependency and smp_rmb().
+ and smp_cond_load_acquire() operations.

Memory operations that occur before an ACQUIRE operation may appear to
happen after it completes.
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-11 15:10    [W:0.034 / U:7.420 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site