lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jun]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v4 05/14] coresight: get/put module in coresight_build/release_path
From
Date
On 06/05/2018 10:07 PM, Kim Phillips wrote:
> Increment the refcnt for driver modules in current use by calling
> module_get in coresight_build_path and module_put in release_path.
>
> This prevents driver modules from being unloaded when they are in use,
> either in sysfs or perf mode.
>
> Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
> Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
> Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <Suzuki.Poulose@arm.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@arm.com>
> ---
> drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight.c | 9 +++++++++
> 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight.c b/drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight.c
> index 338f1719641c..1c941351f1d1 100644
> --- a/drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight.c
> +++ b/drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight.c
> @@ -465,6 +465,12 @@ static int _coresight_build_path(struct coresight_device *csdev,
>
> node->csdev = csdev;
> list_add(&node->link, path);
> +
> + if (!try_module_get(csdev->dev.parent->driver->owner)) {
> + dev_err(&csdev->dev, "could not get coresight driver module\n");
> + return -ENODEV;
> + }
> +

Kim,

It would be safer to do the check before we actually add the device to
the path above. That way, we don't add an unavailable device to the
path, which will be "released" in the release_path below.

Otherwise looks good to me.


> pm_runtime_get_sync(csdev->dev.parent);
>
> return 0;
> @@ -510,6 +516,9 @@ void coresight_release_path(struct list_head *path)
> csdev = nd->csdev;
>
> pm_runtime_put_sync(csdev->dev.parent);
> +
> + module_put(csdev->dev.parent->driver->owner);
> +
> list_del(&nd->link);
> kfree(nd);
> }
>

Suzuki

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-06-05 23:17    [W:0.120 / U:0.068 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site