lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jun]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH V9] powercap/drivers/idle_injection: Add an idle injection framework
From
Date

Hi Rafael,

do you think this patch is acceptable for merging ?



On 20/06/2018 06:34, Viresh Kumar wrote:
> On 19-06-18, 15:23, Daniel Lezcano wrote:
>> Initially, the cpu_cooling device for ARM was changed by adding a new
>> policy inserting idle cycles. The intel_powerclamp driver does a
>> similar action.
>>
>> Instead of implementing idle injections privately in the cpu_cooling
>> device, move the idle injection code in a dedicated framework and give
>> the opportunity to other frameworks to make use of it.
>>
>> The framework relies on the smpboot kthreads which handles via its
>> main loop the common code for hotplugging and [un]parking.
>>
>> This code was previously tested with the cpu cooling device and went
>> through several iterations. It results now in split code and API
>> exported in the header file. It was tested with the cpu cooling device
>> with success.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Javi Merino <javi.merino@kernel.org>
>> Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Kevin Wangtao <kevin.wangtao@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Rui Zhang <rui.zhang@intel.com>
>> Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
>> ---
>>
>> V9:
>> - Unconditionnally reset the should_run flag for all kthreads
>> belonging to the cpumask and remove the park() callback (Viresh Kumar)
>> - Fix up the typos in the comments (Viresh Kumar)
>
> Looks great now. Can't think of any more races :)
>
> Reviewed-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
>


--
<http://www.linaro.org/> Linaro.org │ Open source software for ARM SoCs

Follow Linaro: <http://www.facebook.com/pages/Linaro> Facebook |
<http://twitter.com/#!/linaroorg> Twitter |
<http://www.linaro.org/linaro-blog/> Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-06-25 00:41    [W:0.097 / U:1.276 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site