lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 13/15] arm: dts: r8a7743: Add missing OPP properties for CPUs
Date
Hi All,

I have tested this patch on RZ/G1M and I didn't find any issues. r8a7743 is similar to r8a7791. So I assume you will apply the same patch for other R-SoC devices as well.

Apart from this, maybe we need to update the OPP binding documentation. i.e., extend the operating- point usage to other cores in the cluster (Binding 1: operating-points).

Regards,
Biju

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Simon Horman [mailto:horms@verge.net.au]
> Sent: 28 May 2018 12:59
> To: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
> Cc: arm@kernel.org; Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>; Rob
> Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>; Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>;
> Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>; ionela.voinescu@arm.com;
> Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>; chris.redpath@arm.com; linux-
> renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org; devicetree@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org; Biju Das <biju.das@bp.renesas.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 13/15] arm: dts: r8a7743: Add missing OPP properties for
> CPUs
>
> On Mon, May 28, 2018 at 04:28:31PM +0530, Viresh Kumar wrote:
> > On 28-05-18, 11:23, Simon Horman wrote:
> > > [Cc Biju Das]
> > >
> > > On Fri, May 25, 2018 at 04:01:59PM +0530, Viresh Kumar wrote:
> > > > The OPP properties, like "operating-points", should either be
> > > > present for all the CPUs of a cluster or none. If these are
> > > > present only for a subset of CPUs of a cluster then things will
> > > > start falling apart as soon as the CPUs are brought online in a
> > > > different order. For example, this will happen because the
> > > > operating system looks for such properties in the CPU node it is
> > > > trying to bring up, so that it can create an OPP table.
> > > >
> > > > Add such missing properties.
> > > >
> > > > Fix other missing property (clock latency) as well to make it all
> > > > work.
> > > >
> > > > Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
> > >
> > > Thanks, this looks good to me and it looks like it should have:
> > >
> > > Fixes: 0417814ea140 ("ARM: dts: r8a7743: Add OPP table for frequency
> > > scaling")
> >
> > Sure.
> >
> > Will you be picking this patch directly and send it part of your pull
> > request ? Maybe add Fixes tag then only ?
>
> Yes, that is my plan. I can handle adding the Fixes tag.
> But I'll wait to see if Bjiu has an feedback first.



Renesas Electronics Europe Ltd, Dukes Meadow, Millboard Road, Bourne End, Buckinghamshire, SL8 5FH, UK. Registered in England & Wales under Registered No. 04586709.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-29 15:34    [W:0.096 / U:1.884 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site