lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 429/496] perf/x86/intel: Properly save/restore the PMU state in the NMI handler
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>

[ Upstream commit 82d71ed0277efc45360828af8c4e4d40e1b45352 ]

The PMU is disabled in intel_pmu_handle_irq(), but cpuc->enabled is not updated
accordingly.

This is fine in current usage because no-one checks it - but fix it
for future code: for example, the drain_pebs() will be modified to
fix an auto-reload bug.

Properly save/restore the old PMU state.

Signed-off-by: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Cc: kernel test robot <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/6f44ee84-56f8-79f1-559b-08e371eaeb78@linux.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
arch/x86/events/intel/core.c | 10 +++++++++-
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
@@ -2201,16 +2201,23 @@ static int intel_pmu_handle_irq(struct p
int bit, loops;
u64 status;
int handled;
+ int pmu_enabled;

cpuc = this_cpu_ptr(&cpu_hw_events);

/*
+ * Save the PMU state.
+ * It needs to be restored when leaving the handler.
+ */
+ pmu_enabled = cpuc->enabled;
+ /*
* No known reason to not always do late ACK,
* but just in case do it opt-in.
*/
if (!x86_pmu.late_ack)
apic_write(APIC_LVTPC, APIC_DM_NMI);
intel_bts_disable_local();
+ cpuc->enabled = 0;
__intel_pmu_disable_all();
handled = intel_pmu_drain_bts_buffer();
handled += intel_bts_interrupt();
@@ -2320,7 +2327,8 @@ again:

done:
/* Only restore PMU state when it's active. See x86_pmu_disable(). */
- if (cpuc->enabled)
+ cpuc->enabled = pmu_enabled;
+ if (pmu_enabled)
__intel_pmu_enable_all(0, true);
intel_bts_enable_local();


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-28 14:29    [W:0.882 / U:9.060 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site